The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Buncombe County
North Carolina

Politicians who lived in Buncombe County

  Buncombe County (no city given): Theodore F. Davidson — Robert M. Furman — Halsey B. Leavitt — David L. Swain
  Arden: Mrs. R. Theodore Dent — John B. Sumner
  Asheville, 1800-1809: Jeremiah Cleveland — Andrew Erwin — Patton — George Swain
  Asheville, 1810-1819: George Swain
  Asheville, 1820-1829: William Coleman — George Swain
  Asheville, 1830-1839: William Coleman
  Asheville, 1840-1849: William Coleman — James L. McKee — Montraville Patton — Ezra McCall Tate
  Asheville, 1850-1859: Thomas L. Clingman — James H. Hilliard — William L. Hilliard — James L. McKee — A. S. Merrimon — Zebulon B. Vance — H. F. Wolstenholme
  Asheville, 1860-1869: Thomas L. Clingman — James H. Hilliard — Thomas D. Johnston — John Jones — A. S. Merrimon — H. F. Wolstenholme
  Asheville, 1870-1879: Thomas L. Clingman — John A. Fagg — W. M. Hardy — Henry C. Hunt — Thomas D. Johnston — John Jones — David T. Millard — Goodson M. Roberts
  Asheville, 1880-1889: George W. Cannon — H. L. Gudger — Hezekiah A. Gudger — Thomas D. Johnston — Goodson M. Roberts — Robert B. Vance — William T. Weaver
  Asheville, 1890-1899: George W. Cannon — Hezekiah A. Gudger — John P. Kerr — Richmond Pearson — Wallace W. Rollins
  Asheville, 1900-1909: James J. Britt — Mark W. Brown — Locke Craig — James M. Gudger, Jr. — Thomas J. Harkins — James A. Logan — Virgil S. Lusk — Richmond Pearson — T. F. Roland — Thomas S. Rollins — Wallace W. Rollins — James P. Sawyer — Thomas Settle
  Asheville, 1910-1919: James J. Britt — Locke Craig — Hezekiah A. Gudger — James M. Gudger, Jr. — Owen Gudger — Thomas J. Harkins — J. D. Murphy — Richmond Pearson — A. T. Pritchard — Gallatin Roberts — Wallace W. Rollins — Thomas Settle — Huger Sinkler — H. B. Weaver — Zebulon Weaver — R. R. Williams
  Asheville, 1920-1929: James J. Britt — C. Brewster Chapman — Exum Clement — Locke Craig — D. S. Elias — Marcus Erwin — Owen Gudger — Thomas J. Harkins — Dan W. Hill — L. L. Jenkins — May F. Jones — Mrs. Fred Kent — C. N. Malone — George M. Pritchard — Gallatin Roberts — Huger Sinkler — R. W. Thomas — Mrs. R. J. Tighe — Zebulon Weaver
  Asheville, 1930-1939: J. J. Bailey — James J. Britt — Thomas J. Harkins — Dan W. Hill — A. Hall Johnston — John E. Kehl — Mitchel F. Lominac — William Dudley Pelley — Wythe M. Peyton — George M. Pritchard — Robert R. Reynolds — Gallatin Roberts — Mrs. R. J. Tighe — Zebulon Weaver — Robert M. Wells
  Asheville, 1940-1949: George M. Foster — E. C. Greene — Robert W. Harris — J. Y. Jordan, Jr. — Mitchel F. Lominac — William C. Meekins — Wythe M. Peyton — Robert R. Reynolds — Mark Sumner, Sr. — Zebulon Weaver
  Asheville, 1950-1959: Charles Britt — Earl W. Eller — W. K. McLean — Charles D. Owen, Jr. — James A. Rickert — W. Harold Sams — George Adams Shuford — James G. Stikeleather, Jr. — Mark Sumner, Sr. — Weldon Weir — R. R. Williams, Jr.
  Asheville, 1960-1969: Gilson G. Blake, Jr. — Tom Brown — Andrew J. Garner — Evelyn Hicks — C. Edison Hill — George D. Hopper — Mark Sumner, Sr. — John Veach — Max Wilson
  Asheville, 1970-1979: Gilson G. Blake, Jr. — Andrew J. Garner — V. Lamar Gudger
  Asheville, 1990-1999: Beth Arrowood — Maggie P. Lauterer — Carol W. Peterson — Edward Schell
  Asheville, 2000-2009: Catherine Alter — Terry M. Bellamy — Anne Marie Doherty — Robert W. Edwards — Douglas Gibson — Bill Lack — Bruce Peterson — Carol W. Peterson — Andrew Reisinger — Ellen Richard
  Biltmore: H. L. Nettles
  Black Mountain: Roy A. Taylor
  Fairview: James M. Clarke — Michael A. Kirstein — Frederik van den Arend
  Leicester: Luke H. Young
  Skyland: Mark Meadows
  Weaverville: Timothy F. Johnson — William Reeves — Marshall J. West
   See also North Carolina areas not assigned to counties.
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/NC/BU-lived.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]