The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Montana: Governors

Governors of Montana, 1889-2012 (May be incomplete!)
Joseph K. Toole 1889-93 John E. Rickards 1893-97 Robert B. Smith 1897-1901 Joseph K. Toole 1901-08 Edwin L. Norris 1908-13 Sam V. Stewart 1913-21 Joseph M. Dixon 1921-25 John E. Erickson 1925-33 Frank H. Cooney 1933-35 Elmer Holt 1935-37 Roy E. Ayers 1937-41 Sam C. Ford 1941-49 John W. Bonner 1949-53 J. Hugo Aronson 1953-61 Donald G. Nutter 1961-62 Tim M. Babcock 1962-69 Forrest Anderson 1969-73 Thomas L. Judge 1973-81 Ted Schwinden 1981-89 Stan Stephens 1989-93 Marc Racicot 1993-2001 Judy Martz 2001-05 Brian Schweitzer 2005-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1889 Oct 1: Joseph K. Toole (Dem), elected; Thomas C. Power (Rep), defeated.
  • 1892: William Kennedy, defeated; Timothy E. Collins, defeated.
  • 1896: Alexander C. Botkin (Rep), defeated.
  • 1900: David S. Folsom, defeated.
  • 1900 Nov 6: Thomas S. Hogan (Independent Democratic), defeated.
  • 1904: William Lindsay, defeated; Malcolm A. O'Malley, defeated.
  • 1908: Edward Donlan, defeated; Harry Hazelton, defeated.
  • 1908 Apr 1: Joseph K. Toole, resigned.
  • 1912 Nov 5: Sam V. Stewart (Dem), elected; Harry L. Wilson (Rep), defeated; Frank J. Edwards (Progressive), defeated; Lewis J. Duncan (Socialist), defeated.
  • 1916 Nov 7: Sam V. Stewart (Dem), elected; Frank J. Edwards (Rep), defeated; Lewis J. Duncan (Socialist), defeated.
  • 1920 Nov 2: Joseph M. Dixon (Rep), elected; Burton K. Wheeler (Dem), defeated.
  • 1924 Nov 4: John E. Erickson (Dem), elected; Joseph M. Dixon (Rep), defeated; Frank J. Edwards (Farmer-Labor), defeated; J. H. Matheson (Socialist), defeated.
  • 1928 Nov 6: John E. Erickson (Dem), elected; Wellington D. Rankin (Rep), defeated; W. R. Duncan (Socialist), defeated.
  • 1932: Frank A. Hazelbaker, defeated.
  • 1933 Mar 13: John E. Erickson, resigned.
  • 1935 Dec 15: Frank H. Cooney, died in office.
  • 1936: Frank A. Hazelbaker, defeated.
  • 1940: Roy E. Ayers, defeated; Sam C. Ford (Rep), elected.
  • 1944: Sam C. Ford (Rep), elected; Leif Erickson (Dem), defeated.
  • 1948 Jul 20: John W. Bonner (Dem), nominated; Arthur F. Lamey (Dem), defeated in primary; Leif Erickson (Dem), defeated in primary; Vernon Hoven (Dem), defeated in primary; George M. Melton (Dem), defeated in primary.
  • 1948 Jul 20: Sam C. Ford (Rep), nominated; Leonard C. Young (Rep), defeated in primary; Mike Kuchera (Rep), defeated in primary.
  • 1948 Nov 2: John W. Bonner (Dem), elected; Sam C. Ford (Rep), defeated; Laverne Hamilton (Socialist), defeated.
  • 1952 Jul 15: John W. Bonner (Dem), nominated unopposed.
  • 1952 Jul 15: J. Hugo Aronson (Rep), nominated; Leonard C. Young (Rep), defeated in primary.
  • 1952 Nov 4: J. Hugo Aronson (Rep), elected; John W. Bonner (Dem), defeated.
  • 1956 Jun 5: Arnold Olsen (Dem), nominated; John W. Bonner (Dem), defeated in primary; Danny O'Neill (Dem), defeated in primary; J. M. Nickey (Dem), defeated in primary.
  • 1956 Jun 5: J. Hugo Aronson (Rep), nominated unopposed.
  • 1956 Nov 6: J. Hugo Aronson (Rep), elected; Arnold Olsen (Dem), defeated.
  • 1960: Merrill K. Riddick (Dem), defeated in primary.
  • 1960: Paul C. Cannon, defeated.
  • 1962 Jan 25: Donald G. Nutter, died in office.
  • 1964: Roland Renne (Dem), defeated.
  • 1968: Merrill K. Riddick (Dem), defeated in primary.
  • 1968: Tim M. Babcock, defeated.
  • 1972: Ed Smith, defeated.
  • 2000: Stan Jones (Libertarian), defeated.
  • 2004: Brian Schweitzer (Dem), elected; Stan Jones (Libertarian), defeated.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/MT/ofc/gov.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]