The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mississippi: U.S. Senators

U.S. Senators from Mississippi, 1817-2004 (May be incomplete!)
Walter Leake 1817-20 Thomas H. Williams 1817-29 David Holmes 1820-25 Powhatan Ellis 1825-26 Thomas Buck Reed 1826-27 Powhatan Ellis 1827-32 Thomas Buck Reed 1829 Robert H. Adams 1830 George Poindexter 1830-35 John Black 1832-33 John Black 1833-38 Robert J. Walker 1835-45 James Fisher Trotter 1838 Thomas Hickman Williams 1838-39 John Henderson 1839-45 Jesse Speight 1845-47 Joseph W. Chalmers 1845-47 Henry Stuart Foote 1847-52 Jefferson Davis 1847-51 John Jones McRae 1851-52 Walker Brooke 1852-53 Stephen Adams 1852-57 Albert G. Brown 1854-61 Jefferson Davis 1857-61 Adelbert Ames 1870-74 Hiram Rhodes Revels 1870-71 James L. Alcorn 1871-77 Henry Roberts Pease 1874-75 Blanche K. Bruce 1875-81 Lucius Q. C. Lamar 1877-85 James Z. George 1881-97 Edward C. Walthall 1885-94 A. J. McLaurin 1894-95 Edward C. Walthall 1895-98 Hernando D. Money 1897-1911 William V. Sullivan 1898-1901 A. J. McLaurin 1901-09 James Gordon 1909-10 Le Roy Percy 1910-13 John Sharp Williams 1911-23 James K. Vardaman 1913-19 Pat Harrison 1919-41 Hubert D. Stephens 1923-35 Theodore G. Bilbo 1935-47 James O. Eastland 1941 Wall Doxey 1941-43 James O. Eastland 1943-79 John C. Stennis 1947-89 Thad Cochran 1979- Trent Lott 1989-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1829 Nov 26: Thomas Buck Reed, died in office.
  • 1830 Jul 2: Robert H. Adams, died in office.
  • 1845 Mar 5: Robert J. Walker, resigned.
  • 1847 May 1: Jesse Speight, died in office.
  • 1865: Winfield Scott Featherston, defeated.
  • 1897 Aug 14: James Z. George, died in office.
  • 1898 Apr 21: Edward C. Walthall, died in office.
  • 1909 Dec 22: A. J. McLaurin, died in office.
  • 1916 Nov 7: John Sharp Williams (Dem), elected unopposed.
  • 1918 Nov 5: Pat Harrison (Dem), elected; Sumner W. Rose (Socialist), defeated.
  • 1922 Nov 7: Hubert D. Stephens (Dem), elected; John H. Cook (Rep), defeated; Sumner W. Rose (Socialist), defeated.
  • 1924 Nov 4: Pat Harrison (Dem), elected unopposed.
  • 1928 Nov 6: Hubert D. Stephens (Dem), elected unopposed.
  • 1930 Nov 4: Pat Harrison (Dem), elected unopposed.
  • 1934: Ross A. Collins (Dem), defeated in primary.
  • 1934 Nov 6: Theodore G. Bilbo (Dem), elected unopposed.
  • 1936 Nov 3: Pat Harrison (Dem), elected unopposed.
  • 1940 Nov 5: Theodore G. Bilbo (Dem), elected unopposed.
  • 1941 Jun 22: Pat Harrison, died in office.
  • 1942 Nov 3: James O. Eastland (Dem), elected unopposed.
  • 1946 Nov 5: Theodore G. Bilbo (Dem), elected unopposed.
  • 1947 Aug 21: Theodore G. Bilbo, died in office.
  • 1947 Nov 4: John C. Stennis (Dem), elected; William M. Colmer (Dem), defeated; Forrest B. Jackson (Dem), defeated; Paul B. Johnson, Jr. (Dem), defeated; John E. Rankin (Dem), defeated; Ross A. Collins (Dem), defeated.
  • 1948 Nov 2: James O. Eastland (Dem), elected unopposed.
  • 1952 Nov 4: John C. Stennis (Dem), elected unopposed.
  • 1954 Nov 2: James O. Eastland (Dem), elected; James A. White (Rep), defeated.
  • 1958 Nov 4: John C. Stennis (Dem), elected unopposed.
  • 1960 Nov 8: James O. Eastland (Dem), elected; Joe A. Moore (Rep), defeated.
  • 1964 Nov 3: John C. Stennis (Dem), elected unopposed.
  • 1966 Nov 8: James O. Eastland (Dem), elected; Prentiss Walker (Rep), defeated; Clifton R. Whitley (Ind), defeated.
  • 1970 Nov 3: John C. Stennis (Dem), elected; William Richard Thompson (Ind), defeated.
  • 1972 Nov 7: James O. Eastland (Dem), elected; Gil Carmichael (Rep), defeated; Prentiss Walker (Ind), defeated; C. L. McKinley (Ind), defeated.
  • 1976 Nov 2: John C. Stennis (Dem), elected unopposed.
  • 1978: Cliff Finch (Dem), defeated in primary.
  • 1978 Nov 7: Thad Cochran (Rep), elected; Maurice Dantin (Dem), defeated; Charles Evers (Ind), defeated; Henry J. Kirksey (Ind), defeated.
  • 1982 Nov 2: John C. Stennis (Dem), elected; Haley Barbour (Rep), defeated.
  • 1984 Nov 6: Thad Cochran (Rep), elected; William F. Winter (Dem), defeated.
  • 1988 Nov 8: Trent Lott (Rep), elected; Wayne Dowdy (Dem), defeated.
  • 1990 Nov 6: Thad Cochran (Rep), elected unopposed.
  • 1994 Nov 8: Trent Lott (Rep), elected; Ken Harper (Dem), defeated.
  • 1996 Nov 5: Thad Cochran (Rep), elected; James W. Hunt (Dem), defeated; Ted C. Weill (Independence), defeated.
  • 2000 Nov 7: Trent Lott (Rep), elected; Troy D. Brown, Sr. (Dem), defeated; Jim Giles (Ind), defeated; Lewis Napper (Libertarian), defeated; Shawn O'Hara (Reform), defeated.
  • 2002 Nov 5: Thad Cochran (Rep), elected; Shawn O'Hara (Reform), defeated.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/MS/ofc/ussen.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]