The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
U.S. District Attorneys in Mississippi

U.S. District Attorneys for Mississippi, 1813-38 (may be incomplete!)
Thomas Anderson 1813-14 William Crawford 1814-18 Bela Metcalf 1818-22 William B. Griffith 1822-28 Felix Houston 1828-30 George Adams 1830-36 Richard M. Gaines 1836-38

U.S. District Attorneys for Mississippi, 1838-1998 (may be incomplete!)
Samuel F. Butterworth 1838-41 Oscar F. Bledsoe 1841-48 Andrew K. Blythe 1848-50 Woodson I. Ligon 1850-53 Nathaniel S. Price 1853-54 John A. Orr 1854-57 Flavius J. Lovejoy 1857 G. Wiley Wells 1870 Thomas Walton 1876-78 Green C. Chandler 1878-85 Charles B. Howry 1885-89 Henry C. Niles 1889-91 Mack A. Montgomery 1891-93 Andrew F. Fox 1893-96 Chapman L. Anderson 1896-97 Mack A. Montgomery 1897-1905 W. D. Frazee 1905-12 Lester G. Fant 1912-14 Wilson S. Hill 1914-21 J. L. Roberson 1921 Samuel E. Oldham 1921-25 John H. Cook 1925-29 Lester G. Fant 1929-37 George T. Mitchell 1937-42 James O. Day 1942-45 Chester L. Summers 1945-51 Noel H. Malone 1951-54 Chester L. Summers 1954 Thomas R. Ethridge 1954-61 B. Euple Dozzier 1961 Hosea M. Ray 1961-81 Glen H. Davidson 1981-85 Robert Q. Whitwell 1985-93 Alfred E. Moreton III 1993-97 Calvin Buchanan 1997-98

Officeholding Events (may be incomplete!)

  • 1912 Aug 17: W. D. Frazee, died in office.

    U.S. District Attorneys for Mississippi, 1840-1998 (may be incomplete!)
    Richard M. Gaines 1840-50 Horatio J. Harris 1850-59 Carnot Posey 1859-66 Robert E. Leachman 1866-69 G. Gordon Adam 1869-70 E. Phillip Jacobson 1870-73 Felix Branigan 1873-75 William E. Dedrick 1875-76 Luke Lea 1876-85 J. Bowmar Harris 1885-88 Andrew Houston Longino 1888-89 Albert M. Lea 1889-97 Robert C. Lee 1897 Albert M. Lea 1897-1901 Robert C. Lee 1903-15 Joseph George 1915-19 Julian P. Alexander 1919-21 Edward E. Hindman 1921-29 Ben F. Cameron 1929-33 Robert M. Bourdeaux 1933-38 Toxey Hall 1938-47 Joseph E. Brown 1947-54 Robert E. Hauberg 1954-80 George L. Phillips 1980-94 Brad Pigott 1994-98

    Officeholding Events (may be incomplete!)

  • 1901 Dec 24: Albert M. Lea, died in office.
    "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/MS/ofc/usatty.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]