The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mississippi: Governors

Governors of Mississippi, 1817-2019 (May be incomplete!)
David Holmes 1817-20 George Poindexter 1820-22 Walter Leake 1822-25 Gerard C. Brandon 1825-26 David Holmes 1826 Gerard C. Brandon 1826-32 Abram Marshall Scott 1832-33 Charles Lynch 1833 Hiram G. Runnels 1833-35 John A. Quitman 1835-36 Charles Lynch 1836-38 Alexander Gallatin McNutt 1838-42 Tilghman Mayfield Tucker 1842-44 Albert G. Brown 1844-48 Joseph W. Matthews 1848-50 John A. Quitman 1850-51 John Isaac Guion 1851 James Whitfield 1851-52 Henry S. Foote 1852-54 John J. Pettus 1854 John Jones McRae 1854-57 William McWillie 1857-59 John J. Pettus 1859-63 Charles Clark 1863-65 William L. Sharkey 1865 Benjamin G. Humphreys 1865-68 Adelbert Ames 1868-70 James L. Alcorn 1870-71 Ridgley Ceylon Powers 1871-74 Adelbert Ames 1874-76 John Marshall Stone 1876-82 Robert Lowry 1882-90 John Marshall Stone 1890-96 A. J. McLaurin 1896-1900 Andrew Houston Longino 1900-04 James K. Vardaman 1904-08 Edmond Favor Noel 1908-12 Earl Brewer 1912-16 Theodore G. Bilbo 1916-20 Lee M. Russell 1920-24 Henry L. Whitfield 1924-27 Dennis Murphree 1927-28 Theodore G. Bilbo 1928-32 Sennet Conner 1932-36 Hugh L. White 1936-40 Paul B. Johnson 1940-43 Dennis Murphree 1943-44 Thomas L. Bailey 1944-46 Fielding L. Wright 1946-52 Hugh L. White 1952-56 James Plemon Coleman 1956-60 Ross Barnett 1960-64 Paul B. Johnson, Jr. 1964-68 John Bell Williams 1968-72 William L. Waller 1972-76 Cliff Finch 1976-80 William F. Winter 1980-84 William A. Allain 1984-88 Ray Mabus, Jr. 1988-92 Kirk Fordice 1992-2000 Ronnie Musgrove 2000-04 Haley Barbour 2004-12 Phil Bryant 2012-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1819: Thomas Hinds, defeated.
  • 1825: Cowles Mead, defeated.
  • 1825 Nov 17: Walter Leake, died in office.
  • 1851: Jefferson Davis (Dem), defeated.
  • 1863: Reuben Davis, defeated.
  • 1869 Nov 30: Lewis Dent, defeated.
  • 1873: James L. Alcorn, defeated.
  • 1906: Earl Brewer, defeated.
  • 1907: Thomas U. Sisson, defeated.
  • 1915 Nov 2: Theodore G. Bilbo (Dem), elected; J. T. Lester (Socialist), defeated.
  • 1919: Ross A. Collins (Dem), defeated in primary.
  • 1919 Nov 4: Lee M. Russell (Dem), elected; J. T. Lester (Socialist), defeated.
  • 1923 Nov 6: Henry L. Whitfield (Dem), elected unopposed.
  • 1927 Mar 18: Henry L. Whitfield, died in office.
  • 1927 Nov 8: Theodore G. Bilbo (Dem), elected unopposed.
  • 1931 Nov 3: Sennet Conner (Dem), elected unopposed.
  • 1943 Dec 26: Paul B. Johnson, died in office.
  • 1946 Nov 2: Thomas L. Bailey, died in office.
  • 1991: Kirk Fordice (Rep), elected.
  • 1995: Kirk Fordice (Rep), elected.
  • 1999: Ronnie Musgrove (Dem), elected.
  • 2000: Mike Parker (Rep), defeated.
  • 2011 Nov 8: Phil Bryant (Rep), elected.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/MS/ofc/gov.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]