The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Lowndes County

Lowndes County Political Parties

Democratic Party chairs in Lowndes County: [none currently in database]

Republican Party chairs in Lowndes County: [none currently in database]

Lowndes County Delegates
to National Party Conventions

Democratic National Conventions:
   1860, Charleston and Baltimore: W. S. Barry — Beverly Mathews
   1876, St. Louis: James O. Banks
   1928, Houston: F. M. Vaughn
   1936, Philadelphia: Jamie S. Billups
   1940, Chicago: Birney Imes
   1944, Chicago: Birney Imes
   1948, Philadelphia: T. H. Henry — R. C. Stovall
   1956, Chicago: H. T. Carter — Birney Imes
   1960, Los Angeles: Mayo Ellis — John Holbman III
   1980, New York: Betty M. Sutton
   2004, Boston: Leroy Brooks
   2008, Denver: Leroy Brooks
Republican National Conventions:
   1896, St. Louis: Richard D. Littlejohn
   1912, Chicago: J. M. Shumpert
   1916, Chicago: John T. Wood
   1924, Cleveland: A. B. Bailus
   1928, Kansas City: N. D. Robinson
   1932, Chicago: N. D. Robinson
   1936, Cleveland: D. C. Jackson
   1960, Chicago: Mrs. James F. Hooper — Claude Waldron
   2004, New York: Wilbur Colom — Sandra DePriest
   2012, Tampa: Terry Brown — Larry Cantrell

"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/MS/LO-parties.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]