The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
St. Louis city

Honorary foreign consuls in SAINT Louis

   Argentina: Samuel L. Biggers (Consul 1895-98) Gustavo von Brecht (Vice Consul 1906-25) Carlos von Brecht (Vice Consul as of 1931)
   Austria: Wilder Lucas (Honorary Consul as of 1935)
   Austria-Hungary: Ferdinand Diehm (Consul 1883-1907)
   Belgium: Marc Seguin (Honorary Consul 1913-35) Charles Webb Godefroy (Honorary Consul as of 1944) Stafford L. Lambert (Honorary Consul 1958-59)
   Bolivia: Arnold George Stifel (Honorary Consul as of 1926-35)
   Brazil: Fred Wehmiller (Honorary Consul as of 1926) Fred Wehmiller (Honorary Vice Consul as of 1929)
   Central America: L. D. Kingsland (Consul General 1897-98)
   Colombia: James Graeme Arbuckle (Consul 1898-1907) Macedonio Romero (Honorary Consul as of 1935)
   Costa Rica: Ernst B. Filsinger (Consul 1905-07) John M. Hadley (Honorary Consul General as of 1935)
   Denmark: C. E. Ramlose (Vice Consul 1902-07) Clifford Corneli (Honorary Vice Consul as of 1950)
   Ecuador: J. N. Spangler (Honorary Vice Consul as of 1935)
   France: Louis Seguenot (Consular Agent 1888-1907) Marc Seguin (Consular Agent as of 1935)
   Great Britain: Western Bascome (Vice Consul 1887-1901)
   Guatemala: L. D. Kingsland (Honorary Consul General 1896-1921) Rafael Castillo Zilioli (Honorary Consul as of 1931) Frederic Lawson Niemeyer (Honorary Consul as of 1944)
   Honduras: L. D. Kingsland (Consul General 1896) L. D. Kingsland (Consul General 1898-1915)
   Ireland: Joseph B. McGlynn (Honorary Consul General as of 2017)
   Japan: J. E. Smith (Honorary Consul 1905-21)
   Latvia: Bernard Greensfelder (Honorary Consul as of 1935)
   Liberia: Hutchins Inge (Honorary Consul 1899-1901)
   Netherlands: Hunter Braak (Honorary Consul as of 1935)
   Nicaragua: L. D. Kingsland (Consul General 1899)
   Norway: Leif Johan Sverdrup (Honorary Vice Consul as of 1950)
   Panama: Joseph S. Ergas (Honorary Consul as of 1928-35)
   Paraguay: Charles L. Lippert (Honorary Consul as of 1948)
   Salvador: L. D. Kingsland (Honorary Consul 1904-07)
   Spain: Robert H. Betts (Vice Consul 1864-89) José Alvarez Hernandez (Honorary Vice Consul as of 1935)
   Switzerland: Gaston Dubois (Honorary Consul as of 1921-26) Alfred Aigler (Honorary Consul as of 1935-40)
   Venezuela: James Graeme Arbuckle (Honorary Consul 1911-18) Alirio Parra Marquez (Consul as of 1921) Harold Lawrence Miller (Honorary Consul 1947-50)

"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/MO/sl-consuls.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]