The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mayors and Postmasters of Webb City, Missouri

Mayors of Webb City, 1902-81 (may be incomplete!)
Sam F. Clark as of 1902 W. H. Tholborn 1929-30 Don O. Adamson as of 1942-46 Clarence S. Fly as of 1953-54 Edward W. Murray as of 1955-57 Don O. Adamson as of 1965 Robert J. Baker as of 1967 Robert J. Patrick as of 1970-73 P. D. Crockett as of 1978-81

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1930 Apr 1: Walter Ragland (Dem), elected; W. H. Tholborn (Rep), defeated.

    Postmasters at Webb City, 1876-1973 (may be incomplete!)
    James E. McNair 1876-85 John M. Lingle 1885-89 Ellen Marquis Dodge 1889-94 David H. Mock 1894-98 William H. Haughawout 1898-1906 Walter Tholborn 1906-14 Simeon W. Ragland 1914-15 Albert E. Michie 1915-23 Fletcher G. Smart 1923-24 Fletcher G. Smart 1924-33 Joseph D. Hawkins 1933-35 Joseph D. Hawkins 1935-48 Harry M. Tarrant 1948-50 Harry M. Tarrant 1950-73

    Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1889 Jan 4: John M. Lingle, died in office.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/MO/ofc/webbcity.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]