The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Missouri: State Treasurers

Missouri State Treasurers, 1820-2012 (May be incomplete!)
John Peter Didier 1820-21 Nathaniel Simonds 1821-28 James Earickson 1829-32 John Walker 1833-38 Abraham McClellan 1838-43 Peter Garland Glover 1843-51 Alfred William Morrison 1851-61 George Caleb Bingham 1862-65 William Bishop 1865-69 William Quintilis Dallmeyer 1869-71 Samuel Hays 1871-73 Harvey W. Salmon 1873-75 Joseph Wayne Mercer 1875-77 Elijah P. Gates 1877-81 Phillip Edward Chappell 1881-85 James M. Seibert 1885-89 Edward T. Noland 1889-90 Lon Vest Stephens 1890-97 Frank L. Pitts 1897-1901 Robert Prewitt Williams 1901-05 Jacob F. Gmelich 1905-09 James Cowgill 1909-13 Edwin P. Deal 1913-17 George H. Middelkamp 1917-21 L. D. Thompson 1921-25 C. Eugene Stephens 1925-29 Larry Brunk 1929-33 Richard R. Nacy 1933-37 Robert Winn 1937-41 Wilson Bell 1941-45 Robert Winn 1945-48 Richard R. Nacy 1948-49 Mount Etna Morris 1949-53 George Hubert Bates 1953-57 Mount Etna Morris 1957-61 Milton Carpenter 1961-65 Mount Etna Morris 1965-69 William E. Robinson 1969-73 Jim Spainhower 1973-81 Mel Carnahan 1981-85 R. Wendell Bailey 1985-93 Bob Holden 1993-2001 Nancy Farmer 2001-05

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1838 May 6: John Walker, died in office.
  • 1851 Oct 27: Peter Garland Glover, died in office.
  • 1874: Joseph Wayne Mercer, elected.
  • 1890 Mar 12: Edward T. Noland, resigned.
  • 1916 Nov 7: L. D. Thompson (Rep), defeated.
  • 1920 Nov 2: L. D. Thompson (Rep), elected; John H. Stone (Dem), defeated; James R. Stewart (Socialist), defeated; Clayton H. Johnson (Farmer-Workers), defeated; William Veal (Socialist Labor), defeated.
  • 1924 Nov 4: C. Eugene Stephens (Rep), elected; John H. Stone (Dem), defeated; Edith E. Garver (Socialist), defeated; John J. Ernst (Socialist Labor), defeated.
  • 1936 Nov 3: Robert Winn (Dem), elected; Arch D. Williams (Rep), defeated; Mary Lewis (Communist), defeated; Theodore Baeff (Socialist Labor), defeated.
  • 1940 Nov 5: Wilson Bell (Dem), elected; Scott Peters (Rep), defeated; Lucy Henschel (Socialist), defeated.
  • 1944 Aug 1: Robert Winn (Dem), nominated; H. S. 'Dick' Johnson (Dem), defeated in primary; Harry J. Revercomb (Dem), defeated in primary.
  • 1944 Aug 1: Perry Compton (Rep), nominated; Louis L. Hicks (Rep), defeated in primary; Scott Peters (Rep), defeated in primary; A. M. Evans (Rep), defeated in primary.
  • 1944 Nov 7: Robert Winn (Dem), elected; Perry Compton (Rep), defeated; Joseph G. Hodges (Socialist), defeated; Norman Kochendorfer (Socialist Labor), defeated.
  • 1948 Aug 3: Dan D. Porter (Dem), defeated in primary.
  • 1948 Aug 13: Robert Winn, died in office.
  • 1948 Nov 2: Theodore Baeff (Socialist Labor), defeated.
  • 1952 Aug 5: George Hubert Bates (Dem), nominated; Harry J. Revercomb (Dem), defeated in primary.
  • 1952 Aug 5: Vern F. Carpenter (Rep), nominated unopposed.
  • 1952 Nov 4: George Hubert Bates (Dem), elected; Vern F. Carpenter (Rep), defeated; Bertha M. Boutell (Prohibition), defeated; Elizabeth Erbe (Socialist), defeated; Theodore Baeff (Socialist Labor), defeated.
  • 1956 Nov 6: Mount Etna Morris (Dem), elected; F. P. 'Ted' Graves (Rep), defeated.
  • 1964 Nov 3: Mount Etna Morris (Dem), elected; Perry Compton (Rep), defeated.
  • 1972 Aug 8: Jim Spainhower (Dem), nominated.
  • 1972 Nov 7: Jim Spainhower (Dem), elected.
  • 1976 Nov 2: Jim Spainhower (Dem), elected.
  • 1980 Aug 5: Mel Carnahan (Dem), nominated.
  • 1980 Nov 4: Mel Carnahan (Dem), elected.
  • 1984 Nov 6: R. Wendell Bailey (Rep), elected; Thomas Albert Villa (Dem), defeated.
  • 1988 Nov 8: R. Wendell Bailey (Rep), elected; Bob Holden (Dem), defeated; Gerald R. Geier (Libertarian), defeated.
  • 2000 Nov 7: Nancy Farmer (Dem), elected.
  • 2012 Aug 7: Clint Zweifel (Dem), nominated unopposed.
  • 2012 Aug 7: Cole McNary (Rep), nominated unopposed.
  • 2012 Aug 7: Sean O'Toole (Libertarian), nominated unopposed.
  • 2012 Nov 6: Clint Zweifel (Dem), elected; Cole McNary (Rep), defeated; Sean O'Toole (Libertarian), defeated.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/MO/ofc/trea.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]