The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Missouri: State Supreme Court

Justices of the Missouri State Supreme Court, 1820-1995 (May be incomplete!)
Mathias McGirk 1820-41 John D. Cook 1820-23 John Rice Jones 1820-24 Rufus Pettibone 1823-25 George Tompkins 1824-45 Robert Wash 1825-37 John C. Edwards 1837-39 William B. Napton 1839-51 William Scott 1841-49 P. H. McBride 1845-49 James Harvey Birch 1849-51 John F. Ryland 1849-57 Hamilton Rowan Gamble 1851-55 William Scott 1851-61 Abiel Leonard 1855-57 William B. Napton 1857-61 John C. Richardson 1857-59 Ephraim B. Ewing 1859-61 Barton Bates 1862-65 William Van Ness Bay 1862-65 John D. S. Dryden 1862-65 David Wagner 1865-77 Nathaniel Holmes 1865-68 Walter L. Lovelace 1865-66 Thomas J. C. Fagg 1866-68 Philemon Bliss as of 1868-72 William B. Napton as of 1873-80 James Britton Gantt 1890-1903 Archelaus M. Woodson 1907-15 John C. Brown 1911-15 Charles B. Faris as of 1913-19 Robert Franklin Walker 1913-30 James T. Blair as of 1915-24 Frank Ely Atwood as of 1925-35 Robert W. Otto as of 1926 North T. Gentry 1929 George R. Ellison 1931-47 Clarence A. Burney 1932-33 Ernest M. Tipton 1933-55 C. A. Leedy, Jr. 1933-55 James Marsh Douglas 1937-47 Albert M. Clark 1939-47 Laurance Mastick Hyde 1942-55 Roscoe P. Conkling 1947 S. P. Dalton 1950-65 Henry Ide Eager as of 1955-64 Robert True Donnelly as of 1965-88 Elwood Lauren Thomas as of 1991-95

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1820 Nov 14: Mathias McGirk, appointed.
  • 1820 Nov 16: John D. Cook, appointed.
  • 1820 Nov 27: John Rice Jones, appointed.
  • 1823: Rufus Pettibone, appointed.
  • 1824 Feb 1: John Rice Jones, died in office.
  • 1825 Jul 31: Rufus Pettibone, died in office.
  • 1839 Jan 13: William B. Napton, appointed.
  • 1841: Mathias McGirk, resigned.
  • 1851: William B. Napton, defeated.
  • 1855: Hamilton Rowan Gamble, resigned.
  • 1857: William B. Napton, elected.
  • 1866 Aug 5: Walter L. Lovelace, died in office.
  • 1872: George Howell Shields, defeated.
  • 1910 Nov 8: John C. Brown, elected.
  • 1912 Nov 5: Robert Franklin Walker (Dem), elected.
  • 1915 Sep 4: John C. Brown, died in office.
  • 1920 Nov 2: Conway Elder (Rep), elected; William T. Ragland (Dem), defeated.
  • 1920 Nov 2: Edward Higbee (Rep), elected; John I. Williamson (Dem), defeated.
  • 1920 Nov 2: David E. Blair (Rep), elected; Fred L. Williams (Dem), defeated.
  • 1922 Nov 7: Robert Franklin Walker (Dem), elected.
  • 1924 Nov 4: Frank Ely Atwood (Rep), elected; James T. Blair (Dem), defeated.
  • 1930 Nov 4: George R. Ellison, elected.
  • 1930 Nov 19: Robert Franklin Walker, died in office.
  • 1932 Nov 8: Ernest M. Tipton, elected.
  • 1933 Feb 14: C. A. Leedy, Jr., appointed.
  • 1934 Nov 6: C. A. Leedy, Jr., elected; Walter A. Higbee (Rep), defeated.
  • 1936 Nov 3: Ernest S. Gantt (Dem), elected; Charles C. Madison (Rep), defeated.
  • 1936 Nov 3: John Caskie Collet (Dem), elected; Conway Elder (Rep), defeated.
  • 1937 Apr 3: James Marsh Douglas, appointed.
  • 1938 Nov 8: James Marsh Douglas, elected; Albert M. Clark, elected.
  • 1940 Nov 5: George R. Ellison (Dem), elected; Frank Ely Atwood (Rep), defeated.
  • 1942 Nov 3: Ernest M. Tipton, elected; C. A. Leedy, Jr., elected.
  • 1950 Jan 3: S. P. Dalton, appointed.
  • 1955 Feb 25: Ernest M. Tipton, died in office.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/MO/ofc/spju.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]