The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Missouri: Secretaries of State

Missouri Secretaries of State, 1820-2012 (May be incomplete!)
Joshua Barton 1820-21 William Grymes Pettus 1821-24 Hamilton Rowan Gamble 1824-26 Spencer D. Pettis 1826-28 P. H. McBride 1829-30 John C. Edwards 1830-35 Henry Shurlds 1835-37 John C. Edwards 1837 Peter Garland Glover 1837-39 James Lawrence Minor 1839-45 Faulkland Heard Martin 1845-49 Ephraim B. Ewing 1849-53 John M. Richardson 1853-57 Benjamin Franklin Massey 1857-61 Mordecai Oliver 1861-65 Francis A. Rodman 1865-71 Eugene F. Weigel 1871-75 Michael K. McGrath 1875-89 Alexander A. Lesueur 1889-1901 Sam B. Cook 1901-05 John E. Swanger 1905-09 Cornelius Roach 1909-17 John L. Sullivan 1917-21 Charles U. Becker 1921-33 Dwight H. Brown 1933-44 Gregory C. Stockard 1944-45 Wilson Bell 1945-47 Edgar C. Nelson 1947-49 Walter H. Toberman 1949-60 Robert W. Crawford 1960-61 Warren E. Hearnes 1961-65 James C. Kirkpatrick 1965-85 Roy Blunt 1985-93 Judith K. Moriarty 1993-94 Richard Hanson 1994 Rebecca M. Cook 1994-2001 Matt Blunt 2001-05 Robin Carnahan 2005-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1821 Sep 8: Joshua Barton, resigned.
  • 1860: John T. Coffee, defeated.
  • 1888: Herman P. Faris (Prohibition), defeated.
  • 1900 Nov 6: Sam B. Cook (Dem), elected.
  • 1916 Nov 7: William W. Cox (Socialist Labor), defeated.
  • 1920 Nov 2: Charles U. Becker (Rep), elected; John L. Sullivan (Dem), defeated; David S. Landis (Socialist), defeated; Dan Richmond (Farmer-Workers), defeated; Charles Scheffler (Socialist Labor), defeated.
  • 1924 Nov 4: Charles U. Becker (Rep), elected; Kate S. Morrow (Dem), defeated; David S. Landis (Socialist), defeated; Karl Oberheu (Socialist Labor), defeated.
  • 1928: Dwight H. Brown, defeated.
  • 1928 Nov 6: Charles U. Becker (Rep), elected.
  • 1936 Nov 3: Dwight H. Brown (Dem), elected; L. D. Thompson (Rep), defeated; John Day (Communist), defeated; Peter Tendler (Socialist Labor), defeated.
  • 1940 Nov 5: Dwight H. Brown (Dem), elected; Loyd Miller (Rep), defeated; Henry Siroky (Socialist), defeated; Henry W. Genck (Socialist Labor), defeated.
  • 1944 May 8: Dwight H. Brown, died in office.
  • 1944 May 12: Gregory C. Stockard, appointed.
  • 1944 Aug 1: Wilson Bell (Dem), nominated; V. H. Steward (Dem), defeated in primary.
  • 1944 Aug 1: Loyd Miller (Rep), nominated; F. P. 'Ted' Graves (Rep), defeated in primary; Jesse E. Smith (Rep), defeated in primary; L. D. Thompson (Rep), defeated in primary; Elmer Nicolay (Rep), defeated in primary; Herman H. Lark (Rep), defeated in primary.
  • 1944 Nov 7: Wilson Bell (Dem), elected; Loyd Miller (Rep), defeated; Alice B. Verburg (Socialist), defeated; F. H. Jackson (Prohibition), defeated; Theodore Baeff (Socialist Labor), defeated.
  • 1947 May 20: Wilson Bell, died in office.
  • 1947 May 23: Edgar C. Nelson, appointed.
  • 1948 Nov 2: Walter H. Toberman (Dem), elected.
  • 1952 Aug 5: Walter H. Toberman (Dem), nominated unopposed.
  • 1952 Aug 5: Ballard Watters (Rep), nominated; Herman H. Lark (Rep), defeated in primary; Joseph M. Badgett (Rep), defeated in primary.
  • 1952 Nov 4: Walter H. Toberman (Dem), elected; Ballard Watters (Rep), defeated; Karl Oberheu (Socialist Labor), defeated.
  • 1956 Nov 6: Walter H. Toberman (Dem), elected; Jesse E. Smith (Rep), defeated.
  • 1960 Feb 13: Walter H. Toberman, died in office.
  • 1964 Nov 3: James C. Kirkpatrick (Dem), elected; William J. Jones (Rep), defeated.
  • 1994: Judith K. Moriarty, removed; Richard Hanson, resigned.
  • 2000: Matt Blunt (Rep), elected.
  • 2012 Aug 7: Jason Kander (Dem), nominated; MD Rabbi Alam (Dem), defeated in primary.
  • 2012 Aug 7: Shane Schoeller (Rep), nominated; Scott Rupp (Rep), defeated in primary; Bill Stouffer (Rep), defeated in primary.
  • 2012 Aug 7: Justin Harter (Constitution), nominated unopposed.
  • 2012 Aug 7: Cisse W. Spragins (Libertarian), nominated unopposed.
  • 2012 Nov 6: Jason Kander (Dem), elected; Shane Schoeller (Rep), defeated; Cisse W. Spragins (Libertarian), defeated; Justin Harter (Constitution), defeated.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/MO/ofc/sos.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]