The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
St. Joseph, Missouri
Mayors, Town Presidents, Postmasters

Mayors of St. Joseph, 1851-1981 (may be incomplete!)
Thomas Mills 1851-52 Robert Lamdin 1852-53 James A. Anthony 1853-54 Robert Boyle 1854-55 Jonathan M. Bassett 1855-56 John Corby 1856-57 Armstrong Beattie 1857-59 M. Jeff Thompson 1859-60 Armstrong Beattie 1860-61 Frederick W. Smith 1861-62 Thomas Harbine 1862-64 W. R. Penick 1864-66 Armstrong Beattie 1866-67 Francis J. Davis 1867-68 George H. Hall 1868-70 John Severance 1870-74 Isaac T. Hosea 1874-78 Armstrong Beattie 1878-80 Joseph A. Piner 1880-82 Francis M. Posegate 1882-84 H. R. W. Hartwig 1884-86 Thomas H. Doyle 1886-88 George J. Englehart 1888-90 William M. Shepherd 1890-96 Lawrence A. Vories 1896-98 Peter J. Kirschner 1898 John Combe as of 1902 John C. Whitsell as of 1919 Elliot Marshall as of 1921 Henry E. Grosser as of 1925 Louis V. Stigall as of 1929 Phil J. Welch 1936-46 Henry David Allison as of 1949-50 Stanley I. Dale as of 1953-57 Arthur J. Meers as of 1961-66 Douglas A. Merrifield as of 1967-69 William J. Bennett as of 1973 Gordon J. Wiser as of 1978-81

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1908: Frank B. Fulkerson, defeated.

    Town Presidents of St. Joseph, 1845-50 (may be incomplete!)
    Joseph Robidoux 1845-46 Wiley M. English 1846-47 Henry S. Creal 1847-48 Lewis Tracy 1848-49 James A. Anthony 1849-50

    Postmasters at St. Joseph, 1843-1971 (may be incomplete!)
    Frederick W. Smith 1843-44 William B. Almond 1844-45 William Irwin 1845-48 Joseph F. Wyatt 1848-49 Jesse Holladay 1849-52 Henry S. Creal 1852-53 Charles Dutzschky 1853-54 Henry Slack 1854-55 William A. Davis 1855-61 John L. Bittinger 1861-65 William Fowler 1865-66 George H. Hall 1866-67 Joseph J. Wyatt 1867-69 James M. Hunter 1869-71 Philip Arnholt 1871-75 John Severance 1875-76 Robert P. Richardson 1876 James T. Beach 1876-77 Francis M. Posegate 1877-81 Frank M. Tracy 1881-85 John C. Evans 1885-90 Charles F. Ernst 1890-92 Frank M. Atkinson 1892-1902 Arthur W. Brewster 1902-10 Lawrence O. Weakley 1910-14 Frank Freytag 1914-23 Elliot Marshall 1923-24 Elliot Marshall 1924-32 Leo V. Anderson 1932-36 Theo J. Quinn 1936 Theo J. Quinn 1936-61 Don C. Gilpin 1961 William J. Bennett 1961-63 David A. Hoverson 1963-65 David A. Hoverson 1965-71

    Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1892 Aug 2: Charles F. Ernst, died in office.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/MO/ofc/saintjoseph.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]