The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mayors and Postmasters of Nevada, Missouri

Mayors of Nevada, 1902-81 (may be incomplete!)
S. A. Wight as of 1902 Lynn M. Ewing as of 1942-45 C. P. Frazier as of 1953 Carson Moss as of 1954 James H. Denman as of 1955-56 Frank M. Wysong as of 1957 Homer A. Ellis as of 1965-66 James A. Novak as of 1967 Bill E. Carlini as of 1973 Jerry Beisner as of 1981

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1930 Apr 1: E. D. Gray (Dem), elected; C. B. Melville (Rep), defeated.

    Postmasters at Nevada, 1856-1984 (may be incomplete!)
    DeWitt C. Hunter 1856 Alexander G. Anderson 1856-60 John D. Kelly 1860-61 Doury Collins 1863 Franklin P. Anderson 1866-67 Albert A. Pitcher 1867-69 Hiram L. Tillotson 1869-86 William R. Crockett 1886-87 William McCrudden 1887-90 Martin K. Barkley 1890-93 Charles B. Ingels 1893-97 James M. McAnulty 1897-1906 Oliver W. Neff 1906-14 Joseph Harper 1914-18 Charles W. Peck 1918 Jack H. Bean 1918-20 Charles W. Kech 1920-21 William F. Crigler 1921-31 Oliver W. Neff 1931-32 Oliver W. Neff 1932-33 John M. Moss 1933-34 John M. Moss 1934-45 Ray P. Ferry 1945-47 Don D. Graves 1947-50 Carl L. Dickson 1950-52 Robert W. Bell 1952-68 Willoughby L. O'Connell 1968-69 Willoughby L. O'Connell 1969-84

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/MO/ofc/nevada.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]