The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Missouri: 1922-23 Constitutional Convention

Delegates to State Constitutional Convention, 1922-23 (May be incomplete!)

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1922 Jan 31: Marshall E. Ford (Dem), elected unopposed; John F. Hull (Rep), elected unopposed.
  • 1922 Nov 20: John F. Hull, resigned.
  • 1922 Jan 31: Romulus E. Culver (Dem), elected unopposed; Galius L. Zwick (Rep), elected unopposed. Guy B. Park (Dem), elected unopposed; Edward G. Robison (Rep), elected unopposed.
  • 1922 Dec 15: Guy B. Park, resigned.
  • 1923 Jun 12: Paul M. Culver, appointed.
  • 1922 Jan 31: James C. Wilson (Dem), elected unopposed; John C. McKinley (Rep), elected unopposed.
  • 1922 Jul 10: James C. Wilson, died in office.
  • 1922 Jan 31: Alfred N. Gossett (Dem), elected unopposed; Paul S. Conwell (Rep), elected unopposed. J. A. Collet (Dem), elected; Frederick C. Sasse (Rep), elected; R. S. Kathan (Rep), defeated; H. A. Higgins (Rep), defeated. Joseph B. Shannon (Dem), elected unopposed; Halbert H. McCluer (Rep), elected unopposed. Albert M. Clark (Dem), elected unopposed; Frank Ely Atwood (Rep), elected unopposed. Myers D. Campbell (Dem), elected unopposed; W. F. Frank (Rep), elected unopposed. John R. Baker (Dem), elected unopposed; Bernard H. Dyer (Rep), elected unopposed. Alex Carter (Dem), elected unopposed; W. H. Jackson, Jr. (Rep), elected unopposed. E. Hitt Stewart (Dem), elected unopposed; Walter A. Higbee (Rep), elected unopposed. James O. Allison (Dem), elected unopposed; James P. Hinton (Rep), elected unopposed. J. H. Gunn (Dem), elected unopposed; Joseph W. Hunter (Rep), elected unopposed. Henry P. Lay (Dem), elected unopposed; John H. Bothwell (Rep), elected unopposed. John H. Lucas (Dem), elected unopposed; Joseph W. Miller (Rep), elected unopposed. Wallace Crossley (Dem), elected unopposed; C. H. McClure (Rep), elected unopposed. Maecenas E. Benton (Dem), elected unopposed; E. N. Meador (Rep), elected unopposed. Lieutellus Cunningham (Rep), elected unopposed; John S. Haymes (Dem), elected unopposed. Simon C. Bates (Dem), elected unopposed; J. E. Cahill (Rep), elected unopposed. J. B. Daniel (Dem), elected unopposed; L. M. Henson (Rep), elected unopposed.
  • 1922 Sep 15: J. B. Daniel, died in office.
  • 1923 Apr 25: Orrin L. Munger, resigned.
  • 1923 Jun 21: Jules A. Fremon, appointed.
  • 1922 Jan 31: J. Robert Lamar (Dem), elected unopposed; Mrs. M. E. Morrow (Rep), elected unopposed.
  • 1923 Aug 11: J. Robert Lamar, died in office.
  • 1922 Jan 31: Ralph Wammack (Dem), elected unopposed; Thomas J. Brown (Rep), elected unopposed.
  • 1923 Jun 13: Thomas J. Brown, resigned.
  • 1922 Jan 31: Frank H. Farris (Dem), elected unopposed; Ashley H. Harrison (Rep), elected unopposed. Alonzo Tubbs (Rep), elected unopposed; Arthur V. Lashly (Dem), elected unopposed. Jerry B. Burks (Dem), elected unopposed; Politte Elvins (Rep), elected unopposed. Ell M. Zevely (Dem), elected unopposed; Julius H. Conrath (Rep), elected unopposed. Robert A. Pearson (Dem), elected unopposed; Norman A. Cox (Rep), elected unopposed. Joseph J. Hauser (Rep), elected unopposed; Benjamin G. Brinkmann (Dem), elected unopposed. Louis E. Trieseler (Rep), elected; Jay Elmer Fox (Dem), elected; Nickolaus Becker (Socialist), defeated. Felix E. McAdams (Dem), elected; Julius Leo London (Rep), elected; George S. Tourville (Socialist), defeated. Benjamin F. Bowles (Rep), elected; Frederick G. Ziebig (Dem), elected; Jacob Grimm (Socialist), defeated.
  • 1923 Apr 30: Frederick G. Ziebig, resigned.
  • 1923 Jun 28: Ethelbert P. Lampkin, appointed.
  • 1922 Jan 31: Fred H. Eschmann (Rep), elected; James B. Quigley (Dem), elected; Ernest J. Tschudin (Socialist), defeated. N. P. Zimmer (Rep), elected; Andrew J. Scully (Dem), elected; Albert Daniel (Socialist), defeated. Stephen B. Hunter (Fusion), elected; William T. Johnson (Fusion), elected; Mrs. W. W. Martin (Fusion), elected; Daniel G. Taylor (Fusion), elected; Charles D. Morris (Fusion), elected; Joshua W. Alexander (Fusion), elected; A. A. Speer (Fusion), elected; A. T. Dumm (Fusion), elected; George H. Williams (Fusion), elected; Don O. Vernon (Fusion), elected; Mrs. Walter McNab Miller (Fusion), elected; Solon T. Gilmore (Fusion), elected; Norman A. Mozley (Fusion), elected; Cassius M. Shartel (Fusion), elected; William Sacks (Fusion), elected; W. K. James (Ind), defeated; Charles A. Greene (Ind), defeated; Al J. Crawford (Ind), defeated; Reuben T. Wood (Ind), defeated; William R. Carver (Ind), defeated; David Kreyling (Ind), defeated; Elizabeth Buchanan (Ind), defeated; J. Porter Henry (Ind), defeated; Malcolm A. Bliss (Ind), defeated; Clarence H. Howard (Ind), defeated; Marie B. Ames (Ind), defeated; Walter J. G. Neun (Ind), defeated; Edna F. Gellhorn (Ind), defeated.
  • 1922 May 9: Norman A. Mozley, died in office.
  • 1922 Jun 9: William Sacks, resigned.
  • 1922 Jun 21: Charles G. Brittingham, appointed.
  • 1923 May 17: Charles G. Brittingham, died in office.
  • 1923 Jun 13: Charles A. Greene, appointed.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/MO/ofc/cncn6.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]