The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mayors and Postmasters of Carthage, Missouri

Mayors of Carthage, 1902-81 (may be incomplete!)
J. S. Ross as of 1902 E. J. Tucker as of 1929-30 J. C. Griggs as of 1943-49 H. Tiffin Teters as of 1951-52 Thomas E. Taylor as of 1953-54 C. Glenn Joyce as of 1955-57 Ralph A. Rinehart as of 1963-66 William C. Taylor as of 1967 John C. Sheldon as of 1970-73 Ray Carter as of 1978-81

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1922 Apr 4: Charles F. Drake (Dem), elected; A. F. Carmean (Rep), defeated.
  • 1930 Apr 1: E. J. Tucker (Dem), elected.

    Postmasters at Carthage, 1843-1976 (may be incomplete!)
    George Hornback 1843-47 Edward Father 1847-48 Abraham Brittain 1848-49 Elwood B. James 1849-53 Andrew J. Burden 1853-54 John Fitzgerald 1854-56 John H. Williams 1856 Alex M. Dawson 1856-57 Stanfield Ross 1857-58 Alex M. Dawson 1858 Frederick J. Oliver 1858-59 William M. Chenault 1859-60 Jesse L. Cravens 1860-63 George Rader 1866-79 Alonzo F. Lewis 1879-83 George Blakeney 1883-90 Thomas K. Irwin 1890-94 Benjamin F. Thomas 1894-98 Thomas B. Tuttle 1898-1906 Robert T. Stickney 1906-14 Benjamin F. Hackney 1914-22 Lon L. Ashcraft 1922-27 Willis M. Wallingford 1927-33 Frank F. Ross 1933-36 Frank F. Ross 1936-40 Cleo O. Smith 1940 Cleo O. Smith 1940-55 Gordon A. Rollins 1955-61 Mrs. Glynn J. Evans 1961-62 Mrs. Glynn J. Evans 1962-76

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/MO/ofc/carthage.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]