The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Missouri: State Auditors

Missouri State Auditors, 1820-2006 (May be incomplete!)
William Christy 1820-21 William V. Rector 1821-23 Elias Barcroft 1823-33 Henry Shurlds 1833-35 Peter Garland Glover 1835-37 Hiram H. Baber 1837-45 William Monroe 1845 James W. McDearmon 1845-48 George W. Miller 1848-49 Wilson Brown 1849-52 Abraham Fulkerson 1852-53 William H. Buffington 1853-61 John Walker 1880-88 James M. Seibert 1889-1901 Albert Otis Allen 1901-05 William W. Wilder 1905-09 John Pemberton Gordon 1909-17 George E. Hackmann 1917-25 L. D. Thompson 1925-33 Forrest Smith 1933-49 William H. Holmes 1949-53 Haskell Holman 1953-69 Christopher S. Bond 1971-73 John Ashcroft 1973-75 James F. Antonio 1979- Claire McCaskill 1998-2006

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1848 Mar 20: James W. McDearmon, died in office.
  • 1852 Aug 2: William H. Buffington, elected.
  • 1856 Aug 4: William H. Buffington, elected.
  • 1900 Nov 6: Albert Otis Allen, elected.
  • 1904 Nov 8: William W. Wilder (Rep), elected.
  • 1908 Nov 3: John Pemberton Gordon, elected.
  • 1912 Nov 5: John Pemberton Gordon, elected.
  • 1916 Nov 7: George E. Hackmann (Rep), elected.
  • 1920 Nov 2: George E. Hackmann (Rep), elected; George H. Middelkamp (Dem), defeated; Roy F. Smalley (Socialist), defeated; A. R. Smith (Farmer-Workers), defeated; Fred Spalti (Socialist Labor), defeated.
  • 1924 Nov 4: L. D. Thompson (Rep), elected; George H. Middelkamp (Dem), defeated; A. B. Griep (Socialist), defeated; Henry Knobel (Socialist Labor), defeated.
  • 1928: Forrest Smith (Dem), defeated.
  • 1928 Nov 6: L. D. Thompson (Rep), elected.
  • 1932 Nov 8: Forrest Smith (Dem), elected.
  • 1936 Nov 3: Forrest Smith (Dem), elected; George E. Hackmann (Rep), defeated; Jesse Alspaugh (Communist), defeated; James Wagoner (Socialist Labor), defeated.
  • 1940 Nov 5: Forrest Smith (Dem), elected; J. T. Waddill (Rep), defeated; Helen Nichols (Socialist), defeated.
  • 1944 Aug 1: Forrest Smith (Dem), nominated unopposed.
  • 1944 Aug 1: George Metzger (Rep), nominated; George B. Harlan (Rep), defeated in primary; J. P. Craig (Rep), defeated in primary.
  • 1944 Nov 7: Forrest Smith (Dem), elected; George Metzger (Rep), defeated.
  • 1948 Nov 2: Elizabeth Erbe (Socialist), defeated; William H. Holmes (Dem), elected.
  • 1950 Nov 7: William H. Holmes (Dem), elected; William Barton (Rep), defeated; Howard Edsell (Progressive), defeated; O. M. Tanner (Christian Nationalist), defeated; Bertha M. Boutell (Prohibition), defeated; Elizabeth Erbe (Socialist), defeated; Theodore Baeff (Socialist Labor), defeated.
  • 1953 Mar 31: William H. Holmes, died in office.
  • 1953 Apr 6: Haskell Holman, appointed.
  • 1954 Aug 3: Haskell Holman (Dem), nominated unopposed.
  • 1954 Nov 2: Haskell Holman (Dem), elected.
  • 1970 Nov 3: Christopher S. Bond (Rep), elected.
  • 1974: John Ashcroft (Rep), defeated.
  • 1998 Nov 3: Gerald R. Geier (Libertarian), defeated.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/MO/ofc/aud.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]