The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Missouri: State Attorneys General

Missouri State Attorneys General, 1820-2012 (May be incomplete!)
Edward Bates 1820-21 Rufus Easton 1821-26 Robert William Wells 1826-36 William B. Napton 1836-39 Samuel Mansfield Bay 1839-45 Benjamin F. Stringfellow 1845-49 William A. Robards 1849-51 James B. Gardenhire 1851-56 Ephraim B. Ewing 1856-58 J. Proctor Knott 1858-61 Aikman Welch 1861-64 Thomas T. Crittenden 1864-65 Robert F. Wingate 1865-69 Horace B. Johnson 1869-71 Andrew Jackson Baker 1871-73 Henry Clay Ewing 1873-75 John A. Hockaday 1875-77 Jackson Leonidas Smith 1877-81 Daniel Harrison McIntyre 1881-85 Banton Gallatin Boone 1885-89 John M. Wood 1889-93 Robert Franklin Walker 1893-97 Edward C. Crow 1897-1905 Herbert S. Hadley 1905-09 Elliot W. Major 1909-13 John T. Barker 1913-17 Frank W. McAllister 1917-21 Jesse W. Barrett 1921-25 Robert W. Otto 1925 North T. Gentry 1925-28 Stratton Shartel 1928-33 Roy McKittrick 1933-45 Jonathan E. Taylor 1945-53 John M. Dalton 1953-61 Thomas F. Eagleton 1961-65 Norman H. Anderson 1965-69 John C. Danforth 1969-77 John Ashcroft 1977-85 William L. Webster 1985-93 Jay Nixon 1993-2009

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1851 Sep 3: William A. Robards, died in office.
  • 1864 Jul 29: Aikman Welch, died in office.
  • 1870: Andrew Jackson Baker (Rep), elected.
  • 1886: John Kennish (Rep), defeated.
  • 1896: John Kennish (Rep), defeated.
  • 1908: Frank B. Fulkerson (Rep), defeated.
  • 1912: Arthur M. Hyde (Progressive), defeated.
  • 1920 Nov 2: Jesse W. Barrett (Rep), elected; Willis H. Meredith (Dem), defeated; Jul Anderson (Farmer-Workers), defeated; George Hartwig (Socialist Labor), defeated.
  • 1924 Nov 4: Robert W. Otto (Rep), elected; Elmer O. Jones (Dem), defeated; Edward T. Middlecoff (Socialist Labor), defeated.
  • 1928 Nov 6: Theodore Baeff (Socialist Labor), defeated; Elmer O. Jones (Dem), defeated.
  • 1936 Aug 4: J. Grant Frye (Rep), nominated.
  • 1936 Nov 3: Roy McKittrick (Dem), elected; J. Grant Frye (Rep), defeated; Theodore Vaszily (Socialist Labor), defeated.
  • 1940 Nov 5: Roy McKittrick (Dem), elected; Ray Mabee (Rep), defeated; Edward J. Flynn (Socialist), defeated.
  • 1944 Aug 1: Jonathan E. Taylor (Dem), nominated; Dwight Roberts (Dem), defeated in primary; L. N. Searcy (Dem), defeated in primary; Oliver W. Nolen (Dem), defeated in primary.
  • 1944 Aug 1: George H. Miller (Rep), nominated; Walter E. Bailey (Rep), defeated in primary; John J. Robison (Rep), defeated in primary; Lawrence Presley (Rep), defeated in primary.
  • 1944 Nov 7: Jonathan E. Taylor (Dem), elected; George H. Miller (Rep), defeated.
  • 1948: John M. Hadley (Rep), defeated in primary.
  • 1952 Aug 5: John M. Dalton (Dem), nominated; Delton L. Houtchens (Dem), defeated in primary; Michael J. Kennedy (Dem), defeated in primary.
  • 1952 Aug 5: Richard M. Webster (Rep), nominated unopposed.
  • 1952 Nov 4: John M. Dalton (Dem), elected; Richard M. Webster (Rep), defeated.
  • 1956 Nov 6: John M. Dalton (Dem), elected; Vincent E. Baker (Rep), defeated.
  • 1964 Nov 3: Norman H. Anderson (Dem), elected; Daniel Bartlett, Jr. (Rep), defeated.
  • 1984 Nov 6: William L. Webster (Rep), elected.
  • 2012 Aug 7: Chris Koster (Dem), nominated unopposed.
  • 2012 Aug 7: Ed Martin (Rep), nominated; Adam Lee Warren (Rep), defeated in primary.
  • 2012 Aug 7: Dave Browning (Libertarian), nominated unopposed.
  • 2012 Nov 6: Chris Koster (Dem), elected; Ed Martin (Rep), defeated; Dave Browning (Libertarian), defeated.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/MO/ofc/attygn.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]