The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
St. Francois County

Cemeteries and Memorial Sites of Politicians in St. Francois County

Index to Locations

  • Bonne Terre Bonne Terre Cemetery
  • Farmington Masonic Cemetery
  • Farmington Parkview Cemetery

    Bonne Terre Cemetery
    Bonne Terre, St. Francois County, Missouri
    See also Findagrave page for this location.
    Politicians buried here:
      John Henry Malugen (1859-1929) — of St. Francois County, Mo. Born in Bismarck, St. Francois County, Mo., July 12, 1859. Democrat. Lawyer; delegate to Democratic National Convention from Missouri, 1904. Died, from heart disease, in Bonne Terre, St. Francois County, Mo., November 27, 1929 (age 70 years, 138 days). Interment at Bonne Terre Cemetery.
      Relatives: Son of Thomas B. Malugen and Mary Jane (Tullock) Malugen; married to Sarah Lovina Perkins and Emily K. Johnson.
      See also Find-A-Grave memorial

    Masonic Cemetery
    Farmington, St. Francois County, Missouri
    Politicians buried here:
      Madison Roswell Smith (1850-1919) — also known as Madison R. Smith — of Farmington, St. Francois County, Mo. Born near Glenallen, Bollinger County, Mo., July 9, 1850. Democrat. Member of Missouri state senate 26th District, 1887-90; U.S. Representative from Missouri 13th District, 1907-09; defeated, 1908; U.S. Minister to Haiti, 1913-14. Died in Farmington, St. Francois County, Mo., June 18, 1919 (age 68 years, 344 days). Interment at Masonic Cemetery.
      See also congressional biography — Govtrack.us page — U.S. State Dept career summary
      James Robinson McCormick (1824-1897) — also known as James R. McCormick — of Arcadia, Iron County, Mo.; Farmington, St. Francois County, Mo. Born near Irondale, Washington County, Mo., August 1, 1824. Democrat. Physician; delegate to Missouri state constitutional convention, 1861; member of Missouri state senate, 1862, 1867; resigned 1867; served in the Union Army during the Civil War; U.S. Representative from Missouri 3rd District, 1867-73; druggist. Slaveowner. Died in Farmington, St. Francois County, Mo., 1897 (age about 72 years). Interment at Masonic Cemetery.
      See also congressional biography — Govtrack.us page

    Parkview Cemetery
    Farmington, St. Francois County, Missouri
    Politicians buried here:
      Harris Edward Denman (1874-1951) — also known as Harry Denman — of Farmington, St. Francois County, Mo. Born in Marquand, Madison County, Mo., March 23, 1874. Republican. Newspaper publisher; member of Missouri state house of representatives from St. Francois County, 1945-48, 1951; defeated, 1948; died in office 1951. Methodist. Member, Freemasons; Odd Fellows. Died, following surgery for stomach cancer, in Barnes Hospital, St. Louis, Mo., December 29, 1951 (age 77 years, 281 days). Interment at Parkview Cemetery.
      Relatives: Son of Jabez Harris Denman and Sarah (King) Denman; married, October 23, 1898, to Loutitia 'Lou' (Freeman) Shuck.
      See also Find-A-Grave memorial
      Edwin S. Politte (1890-1965) — also known as "Bud" — of St. Francois County, Mo. Born December 26, 1890. Democrat. Candidate for Missouri state house of representatives from St. Francois County, 1945. Died September 22, 1965 (age 74 years, 270 days). Interment at Parkview Cemetery.
      Relatives: Son of Peter Joseph Politte and Veronica Mary (LaRose) Politte; married, June 8, 1910, to Hazel Cundiff; married, August 1, 1928, to Edith Ledbetter.
      See also Find-A-Grave memorial

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/MO/SF-buried.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]