The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
U.S. District Court in Minnesota

U.S. District Judges for Minnesota, 1903-2017 (may be incomplete!)
R. Page W. Morris 1903-23 Charles Andrew Willard 1909-14 Wilbur Franklin Booth 1914-25 John Franklin McGee 1923-25 Joseph West Molyneaux 1925-37 John B. Sanborn, Jr. 1925-32 Gunnar Hans Nordbye 1931-67 Matthew M. Joyce 1932-54 Robert C. Bell 1933-61 George F. Sullivan 1937-44 Edward J. Devitt 1954-92 Earl R. Larson 1961-77 Miles Lord 1966- Donald D. Alsop 1974-92 Harry Hunter MacLaughlin 1977-92 Diana E. Murphy 1980-94 Paul Arthur Magnuson 1981-2002 David Singleton Doty 1987-98 Michael James Davis 1994-2015 Ann D. Montgomery 1996-2016 James M. Rosenbaum 2001 John Tunheim 2001 Patrick Joseph Schiltz 2006-

Officeholding Events (may be incomplete!)

  • 1914 Mar 13: Charles Andrew Willard, died in office.
  • 1923 Jun 30: R. Page W. Morris, took senior status.
  • 1925 Feb 15: John Franklin McGee, died in office.
  • 1937 Feb 28: Joseph West Molyneaux, took senior status.
  • 1944 Apr 14: George F. Sullivan, died in office.
  • 1954 Oct 11: Matthew M. Joyce, took senior status.
  • 1961 May 1: Robert C. Bell, took senior status.
  • 1967 Mar 6: Gunnar Hans Nordbye, took senior status.
  • 1977: Earl R. Larson, took senior status.
  • 1992 Aug 28: Donald D. Alsop, took senior status.
  • 1992 Oct 1: Harry Hunter MacLaughlin, took senior status.
  • 1998 Jun 30: David Singleton Doty, took senior status.
  • 2002 Feb 9: Paul Arthur Magnuson, took senior status.
  • 2015 Aug 1: Michael James Davis, took senior status.
  • 2016 May 31: Ann D. Montgomery, took senior status.
    "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/MN/ofc/usdjud.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]