The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Minnesota: State Treasurers

Minnesota State Treasurers, 1858-1983 (May be incomplete!)
George W. Armstrong 1858-60 Charles Scheffer 1860-68 Emil D. Munch 1868-72 William Seeger 1872-73 Edwin W. Dyke 1873-76 William Pfaender 1876-80 Charles Kittelson 1880-87 Joseph Bobleter 1887-95 August T. Koerner 1895-1901 Julius H. Block 1901-07 Clarence C. Dinehart 1907-10 Elias S. Pettijohn 1910-11 Walter J. Smith 1911-16 Arthur C. Gooding 1916-17 Henry Rines 1917-25 Edward W. Stark 1925-27 Julius A. Schmahl 1927-37 C. A. Halverson 1937-39 Julius A. Schmahl 1939-51 Val Björnson 1951-55 Arthur Hansen 1955-57 Val Björnson 1957-75 Jim Lord 1975-83 Robert W. Mattson, Jr. 1983-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1884: Henry Bordewich (Rep), defeated.
  • 1892 Nov 8: Joseph Bobleter (Rep), elected; Joseph Leicht (Dem), defeated; Peter M. Ringdal (People's), defeated; D. H. Evans (Prohibition), defeated.
  • 1894 Nov 6: August T. Koerner (Rep), elected; Charles A. Lambert (Dem), defeated; Ferdinand Borchert (People's), defeated; Fred L. Hampson (Prohibition), defeated.
  • 1916 Jun 19: Henry Rines (Rep), nominated; R. L. Johnson (Rep), defeated in primary; Peter J. Schwarg (Rep), defeated in primary.
  • 1916 Nov 7: Henry Rines (Rep), elected unopposed.
  • 1930 Nov 4: Julius A. Schmahl (Rep), elected; Frederick Miller (Farmer-Labor), defeated; J. Pierce Wolfe (Dem), defeated.
  • 1934 Nov 6: Julius A. Schmahl (Rep), elected; Albert H. Kleffman (Farmer-Labor), defeated; Maynard M. Bartley (Dem), defeated.
  • 1936 Nov 3: C. A. Halverson (Farmer-Labor), elected; Julius A. Schmahl (Rep), defeated; Ray M. Lang (Dem), defeated.
  • 1946 Nov 5: Julius A. Schmahl (Rep), elected; W. G. Swanson (Democratic-Farmer-Labor), defeated.
  • 1950 Nov 7: Val Björnson (Rep), elected; Paul A. Rasmussen (Democratic-Farmer-Labor), defeated.
  • 1958 Nov 4: Val Björnson (Rep), elected; Arthur Hansen (Democratic-Farmer-Labor), defeated.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/MN/ofc/trea.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]