The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Minnesota: Secretaries of State

Minnesota Secretaries of State, 1858-2002 (May be incomplete!)
Francis Baasen 1858-60 James H. Baker 1860-62 David Blakeley 1862-68 Henry C. Rogers 1868-70 Hans Mattson 1870-72 S. P. Jennison 1872-76 John S. Irgens 1876-80 Fred von Baumbach 1880-87 Hans Mattson 1887-91 Frederick P. Brown 1891-95 Albert Berg 1895-1901 Peter E. Hanson 1901-07 Julius A. Schmahl 1907-21 Mike Holm 1921-52 H. H. Chesterman 1952 Virginia Holm 1952-55 Joseph L. Donovan 1955-71 Arlen Erdahl 1971-75 Joan Anderson Growe 1975-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1892 Nov 8: Frederick P. Brown (Rep), elected; Peter Nelson (Dem), defeated; Henry B. Martin (People's), defeated; H. H. Aaker (Prohibition), defeated.
  • 1894 Nov 6: Albert Berg (Rep), elected; Charles J. Haines (Dem), defeated; Peter J. Seberger (People's), defeated; Charles O. Winger (Prohibition), defeated.
  • 1906: Julius A. Schmahl (Rep), elected.
  • 1908: Julius A. Schmahl (Rep), elected.
  • 1916 Jun 19: Julius A. Schmahl (Rep), nominated; E. K. Sampson (Rep), defeated in primary.
  • 1916 Nov 7: Julius A. Schmahl (Rep), elected; C. L. Johnson (Prohibition), defeated.
  • 1930 Nov 4: Mike Holm (Rep), elected; Anna Olson Determan (Farmer-Labor), defeated; Mary C. MacGregor (Dem), defeated; Henry Bartlett (Communist), defeated.
  • 1934 Nov 6: Mike Holm (Rep), elected; K. K. Solberg (Farmer-Labor), defeated; Hugh T. Kennedy (Dem), defeated; Robert Turner (Communist), defeated.
  • 1936 Nov 3: Mike Holm (Rep), elected; Paul C. Hartig (Farmer-Labor), defeated; Carl Hennemann (Dem), defeated; Vincent R. Dunne (Socialist), defeated.
  • 1946 Nov 5: Mike Holm (Rep), elected; Mrs. Ray Delaney (Democratic-Farmer-Labor), defeated.
  • 1950 Nov 7: Mike Holm (Rep), elected; Mrs. A. J. McGuire (Democratic-Farmer-Labor), defeated.
  • 1952 Jul 6: Mike Holm, died in office.
  • 1958 Nov 4: Joseph L. Donovan (Democratic-Farmer-Labor), elected; L. C. 'Andy' Anderson (Rep), defeated.
  • 2002: Buck Humphrey (Democratic-Farmer-Labor), defeated.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/MN/ofc/sos.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]