The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Minnesota: Members of the @ Railroad and Warehouse Commission

Members of the Minnesota Railroad and Warehouse Commission, 1872-1958 (May be incomplete!)
Alonzo J. Edgerton 1872 William R. Marshall 1874 J. J. Randall 1874 William R. Marshall 1876 James H. Baker 1882 James H. Baker 1885 George L. Becker 1885 S. S. Murdock 1885 Horace Austin 1887 John L. Gibbs 1887 John P. Williams 1889 William M. Liggett 1891 Ira B. Mills 1893 Nathan Kingsley 1896 P. M. Ringdal 1899 Thomas J. Knox 1900 J. G. Miller 1901 Ira B. Mills 1901 C. F. Staples 1901 William E. Young 1905 Charles E. Elmquist 1909 Ole P. B. Jacobson 1914 Fred W. Putman 1917 Ivan Bowen 1921 Charles W. Sterling 1923 Frank W. Matson 1923 Christian J. Laurisch 1927 Knud Wefald 1933-36 Charles Munn 1935-37 Harold R. Atwood 1936-37 Hjalmar Petersen 1937 Frank W. Matson 1939-47 N. J. Holmberg 1941-47 W. I. Nolan 1943 Rollin G. Johnson 1943 Ray P. Chase 1945-47

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1872 Jan 10: Alonzo J. Edgerton, appointed.
  • 1874 Mar 14: William R. Marshall, appointed; J. J. Randall, appointed.
  • 1876 Jan 6: William R. Marshall, appointed.
  • 1882 Jan 10: James H. Baker, appointed.
  • 1885 Apr 14: James H. Baker, appointed; S. S. Murdock, appointed; George L. Becker, appointed.
  • 1887 Jan 12: Horace Austin, appointed; John L. Gibbs, appointed.
  • 1889 Jan 22: John P. Williams, appointed.
  • 1891 Jan 22: William M. Liggett, appointed.
  • 1893 Jan 26: Ira B. Mills, appointed.
  • 1896 Nov 13: Nathan Kingsley, appointed.
  • 1899 Jan 5: P. M. Ringdal, appointed.
  • 1900 Jan 2: Thomas J. Knox, appointed.
  • 1900 Nov 6: Ira B. Mills, elected; J. G. Miller, elected; C. F. Staples, elected.
  • 1904 Nov 8: William E. Young, elected.
  • 1906 Nov 6: Anton Schaefer (Dem), defeated.
  • 1916 Jun 19: Ira B. Mills (Rep), nominated; Elias Steenerson (Rep), defeated in primary.
  • 1916 Jun 19: John Lind (Prohibition), nominated; Lou W. Martin (Prohibition), defeated in primary.
  • 1916 Nov 7: Ira B. Mills (Rep), elected; O. A. Hedin (Dem), defeated; John Lind (Prohibition), defeated.
  • 1930 Nov 4: Frank W. Matson (Rep), elected; Elmer Gottfreid Johnson (Farmer-Labor), defeated; August Blomquist (Dem), defeated; Nick Maki (Communist), defeated.
  • 1934 Nov 6: Charles Munn (Farmer-Labor), elected; Christian J. Laurisch (Rep), defeated; Robert G. Close (Dem), defeated.
  • 1936 Oct 25: Knud Wefald, died in office.
  • 1936 Nov 3: Hjalmar Petersen (Farmer-Labor), elected; Frank W. Matson (Rep), defeated; Arthur N. Cosgrove (Dem), defeated.
  • 1940: N. J. Holmberg, elected.
  • 1944 Nov 7: Ray P. Chase, elected.
  • 1946 Nov 5: N. J. Holmberg (Rep), elected; Paul A. Rasmussen (Democratic-Farmer-Labor), defeated.
  • 1950 Nov 7: Leonard E. Lindquist (Rep), elected; Joe McCarthy (Democratic-Farmer-Labor), defeated.
  • 1950 Nov 7: Leonard E. Lindquist (Rep), elected; Carl J. Benson (Democratic-Farmer-Labor), defeated.
  • 1958 Nov 4: Ronald L. Anderson (Democratic-Farmer-Labor), elected; Ewald W. Lund (Rep), defeated.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/MN/ofc/rwc.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]