The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Minnesota: Lieutenant Governors

Lieutenant Governors of Minnesota, 1858-2018 (May be incomplete!)
William Holcombe 1858-60 Ignatius Donnelly 1860-63 Henry A. Swift 1863 Charles D. Sherwood 1864-66 Thomas H. Armstrong 1866-70 William H. Yale 1870-74 Alphonso Barto 1874-76 James B. Wakefield 1876-80 Charles A. Gilman 1880-87 A. E. Rice 1887-91 Gideon S. Ives 1891-93 David M. Clough 1893-95 Frank A. Day 1895-97 John L. Gibbs 1897-99 Lyndon A. Smith 1899-1903 Ray W. Jones 1903-07 Adolph O. Eberhart 1907-09 E. E. Smith 1910-11 Samuel Y. Gordon 1911-13 J. A. A. Burnquist 1913-15 George H. Sullivan 1916 Thomas Frankson 1917-21 Louis L. Collins 1921-25 W. I. Nolan 1925-29 Charles E. Adams 1929-31 Henry Arens 1931-33 K. K. Solberg 1933-35 Hjalmar Petersen 1935-36 William B. Richardson 1936 Gottfrid Lindsten 1937-39 C. Elmer Anderson 1939-43 Edward J. Thye 1943 Archie H. Miller 1943-45 C. Elmer Anderson 1945-51 Albert O. Sletvold 1951-52 Ancher Nelsen 1953-54 Donald O. Wright 1954-55 Karl F. Rolvaag 1955-63 A. M. 'Sandy' Keith 1963-67 James B. Goetz 1967-71 Rudy Perpich 1971-76 Alec Gehard Olson 1976-79 Lou Wangberg 1979-83 Marlene Johnson 1983-91 Joanell M. Dyrstad 1991-95 Joanne E. Benson 1995-99 Mae Schunk 1999- Tina Smith 2015-18

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1892 Nov 8: David M. Clough (Rep), elected; H. H. Hawkins (Dem), defeated; Swan Nelson (People's), defeated; Ole Kron (Prohibition), defeated.
  • 1894 Nov 6: David M. Clough (Rep), elected; Edwin E. Lommen (People's), defeated; John Ludwig (Dem), defeated; Charles M. Way (Prohibition), defeated.
  • 1906: Lloyd G. Pendergast (Dem), defeated; Adolph O. Eberhart (Rep), elected.
  • 1908: Adolph O. Eberhart (Rep), elected.
  • 1916 Jun 19: Julius Thorson (Dem), nominated; Severin N. Sorensen (Dem), defeated in primary.
  • 1916 Jun 19: Thomas Frankson (Rep), nominated; James A. Peterson (Rep), defeated in primary; Joseph A. Gates (Rep), defeated in primary.
  • 1916 Nov 7: Thomas Frankson (Rep), elected; Julius Thorson (Dem), defeated; Andrew Hanson (Socialist), defeated; L. A. Simonson (Prohibition), defeated.
  • 1930 Nov 4: Henry Arens (Farmer-Labor), elected; John H. Hougen (Rep), defeated; Andrew Roine (Communist), defeated.
  • 1934 Nov 6: Hjalmar Petersen (Farmer-Labor), elected; Franklin F. Ellsworth (Rep), defeated; Arthur D. Reynolds (Dem), defeated.
  • 1936 Nov 3: Gottfrid Lindsten (Farmer-Labor), elected; Arthur E. Nelson (Rep), defeated; A. C. Knudson (Dem), defeated.
  • 1946 Nov 5: C. Elmer Anderson (Rep), elected; F. L. 'Frank' McGinn (Democratic-Farmer-Labor), defeated.
  • 1950 Nov 7: C. Elmer Anderson (Rep), elected; Frank Murphy (Democratic-Farmer-Labor), defeated; Susie W. Stageberg (Progressive), defeated.
  • 1956: Leonard Dickinson, defeated.
  • 1958 Nov 4: Karl F. Rolvaag (Democratic-Farmer-Labor), elected; Bernard E. Ericsson (Rep), defeated.
  • 1966 Nov 8: James B. Goetz (Rep), elected.
  • 1998: Roger D. Moe (Democratic-Farmer-Labor), defeated.
  • 2000: Jean Louise Harris (Rep), defeated in primary.
  • 2010 Aug 10: Thomas J. Harens (Minnesota Independence), defeated in primary.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/MN/ofc/ltgov.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]