The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
U.S. District Attorneys in Michigan

U.S. District Attorneys for Michigan, 1815-63 (may be incomplete!)
Solomon Sibley 1815-24 Andrew C. Whitney 1824-26 Daniel LeRoy 1826-34 Daniel Goodwin 1834-41 George C. Bates 1841-45 John Norvell 1845-50 George C. Bates 1850-52 Samuel Barstow 1852-53 George E. Hand 1853-57 Joseph Miller, Jr. 1857-61 William L. Stoughton 1861 Alfred Russell 1861-63

U.S. District Attorneys for Michigan, 1869-1998 (may be incomplete!)
Aaron B. Maynard 1869 Sullivan M. Cutcheon 1877-85 Cyrenius P. Black 1885-90 Theodore F. Shepard 1890-94 Jared W. Finney 1894 Alfred P. Lyon 1894-98 Jared W. Finney 1898 William D. Gordon 1898-1906 Frank H. Watson 1906-11 Arthur J. Tuttle 1911-12 Clyde J. Webster 1912-16 John E. Kinnane 1916-21 Earl J. Davis 1921-24 Delos G. Smith 1924-27 O. L. Smith 1927-28 John R. Watkins 1928-31 Gregory H. Frederick 1931-36 John C. Lehr 1936-47 Thomas P. Thornton 1947-49 Joseph C. Murphy 1949 Edward T. Kane 1949-51 Philip A. Hart 1952-53 Frederick W. Kaess 1953-60 George E. Woods, Jr. 1960-61 Lawrence Gubow 1961-68 Robert J. Grace 1968-69 James H. Brickley 1969-70 Ralph B. Guy, Jr. 1970-76 Frederick S. Van Tiem 1976 Philip M. Van Dam 1976-77 James K. Robinson 1977-80 Richard A. Rossman 1980-81 Leonard R. Gilman 1981-85 Joel M. Shere 1985 Roy C. Hayes 1985-89 Stephen J. Markman 1989-93 Ross Parker 1993 Alan M. Gershel 1993 Saul A. Green 1994-

Officeholding Events (may be incomplete!)

  • 1924: Earl J. Davis, resigned.

    U.S. District Attorneys for Michigan, 1863-1998 (may be incomplete!)
    Frederick O. Rogers 1863-69 John H. Standish 1869-77 Marsden C. Burch 1877-82 John W. Stone 1882-86 G. Chase Godwin 1886-90 Lewis G. Palmer 1890-94 John Power 1894-98 George G. Covell 1898-1910 Fred C. Wetmore 1910-14 Edward J. Bowman 1914 Myron H. Walker 1914-22 Edward J. Bowman 1922-30 Fred C. Wetmore 1930-33 Joseph M. Donnelly 1933-37 Fred C. Wetmore 1937 Francis T. McDonald 1937-40 Joseph F. Deeb 1940-53 Wendell A. Miles 1953-60 Robert J. Danhof 1960-61 George E. Hill 1961-64 Robert G. Quinn 1964-65 Harold D. Beaton 1965-69 John P. Milanowski 1969-74 Frank S. Spies 1974-77 James S. Brady 1977-81 Robert C. Greene 1981 John A. Smietanka 1981-94 Thomas J. Gezon 1994 Michael H. Dettmer 1994-
    "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/MI/ofc/usatty.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]