The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Michigan: Chief Justices of the Supreme Court

Chief Justices of the Michigan Supreme Court, 1836-2011 (May be incomplete!)
William A. Fletcher 1836-42 George Morrell 1842-43 Epaphroditus Ransom 1843-48 Charles W. Whipple 1848-51 Warner Wing 1852-53 Sanford M. Green 1854-55 Abner Pratt 1856-57 George Martin 1858-67 Thomas M. Cooley 1868-69 James V. Campbell 1870-71 Isaac P. Christiancy 1872-73 Benjamin F. Graves 1874-75 Thomas M. Cooley 1876-77 James V. Campbell 1878-79 Isaac Marston 1880-81 Benjamin F. Graves 1882-83 Thomas M. Cooley 1884-85 Allen B. Morse 1885 James V. Campbell 1886-87 Thomas Russell Sherwood 1888-89 John W. Champlin 1890-91 Allen B. Morse 1892 John W. McGrath 1892 Claudius B. Grant 1898-99 Robert M. Montgomery 1900-01 Frank A. Hooker 1902-03 Joseph B. Moore 1904-05 William L. Carpenter 1906 Aaron V. McAlvay 1907 Claudius B. Grant 1908 Charles A. Blair 1909 Robert M. Montgomery 1910 John E. Bird 1910 Russell C. Ostrander 1911 Joseph B. Moore 1912 Joseph H. Steere 1913 Aaron V. McAlvay 1914 Flavius L. Brooke 1915 John W. Stone 1916 Franz C. Kuhn 1917 Russell C. Ostrander 1918 John E. Bird 1919 Joseph B. Moore 1920 Joseph H. Steere 1921 Grant Fellows 1922 Howard Wiest 1923 George M. Clark 1924 John S. McDonald 1925 John E. Bird 1926 Nelson Sharpe 1927 Richard C. Flannigan 1928 Louis H. Fead 1928 Walter H. North 1929 Howard Wiest 1930 Henry M. Butzel 1931 George M. Clark 1932 John S. McDonald 1933 Nelson Sharpe 1934 William W. Potter 1935 Walter H. North 1936 Louis H. Fead 1937 Howard Wiest 1938 Henry M. Butzel 1939 George E. Bushnell 1940 Edward M. Sharpe 1941 Bert D. Chandler 1942 Emerson R. Boyles 1943 Walter H. North 1944 Raymond Wesley Starr 1945 Henry M. Butzel 1946 Leland W. Carr 1947 George E. Bushnell 1948 Edward M. Sharpe 1949 Emerson R. Boyles 1950 Neil E. Reid 1951 Walter H. North 1952 Clark J. Adams 1952 John R. Dethmers 1953 Henry M. Butzel 1954 Leland W. Carr 1955 Edward M. Sharpe 1956 John R. Dethmers 1956-62 Leland W. Carr 1962-63 Thomas M. Kavanagh as of 1964-66 John R. Dethmers 1967-69 Thomas E. Brennan 1969-71 Thomas M. Kavanagh 1971-75 Thomas G. Kavanagh 1975-79 Mary S. Coleman 1979-82 John W. Fitzgerald 1982 G. Mennen Williams 1983-86 Dorothy Comstock Riley 1987-91 Michael F. Cavanagh 1991-95 James H. Brickley 1995-96 Conrad L. Mallett, Jr. 1997-99 Elizabeth A. Weaver 1999- Marilyn Jean Kelly 2009-10 Robert P. Young, Jr. 2011-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1867 Dec 15: George Martin, died in office.
  • 1928 Feb 17: Richard C. Flannigan, died in office.
  • 1952 Jul 23: Walter H. North, died in office.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/MI/ofc/spcj.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]