The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Albion, Michigan
Mayors, Village Presidents, Postmasters

Mayors of Albion, 1885-2013 (may be incomplete!)
Charles F. Austin 1885 Robert J. Frost 1886 L. J. Wolcott 1887 E. F. Mills 1888 Robert J. Frost 1889 Eugene P. Robertson 1890 Isaac N. Sibley 1891 Henry D. Thomason 1892-93 William B. Knickerbocker 1894-95 Samuel Dickie 1896 A. L. McCutcheon 1897 Almon G. Bruce 1898 Edward R. Loud 1899-1900 Charles W. Dalrymple 1900-01 James Shanley 1901-02 Frank E. Palmer 1903 C. Owen Brownell 1904-05 Daniel M. McAuliffe 1906-08 Adrian F. Cooper 1909-10 William W. Austin 1911 George U. McCarty 1912-13 Charles H. Burnett 1913-14 William Bemer 1915-16 E. Floyd Hoaglin 1917-20 Archer L. Young 1921-24 Frank W. Culver 1925-30 Norman H. Wiener 1931-44 Karl H. Miller 1944 W. Clark Dean 1945-46 Alfonso A. Magnotta 1947-48 Norman H. Wiener 1949-54 Charles E. Hughes as of 1955-56 Hugo A. Rieger 1957-60 Victor S. Burstein as of 1967 William M. Wheaton 2001-08 Joseph Domingo 2009-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1889 Apr 1: Robert J. Frost (Dem), elected.
  • 1900 Apr 2: Charles W. Dalrymple (Rep), elected; Edward R. Loud (Dem & People's), defeated.
  • 1901 Apr 1: James Shanley (Dem), elected; Charles W. Dalrymple (Rep), defeated.
  • 1902 Apr 7: James Shanley (Dem), elected; Henry Wochholtz (Rep), defeated.
  • 1903 Apr 6: Frank E. Palmer (Rep), elected.
  • 1904 Apr 4: C. Owen Brownell (Rep), elected.
  • 1905 Apr 3: C. Owen Brownell, elected.
  • 1906 Apr 2: Daniel M. McAuliffe (Dem), elected; Delos Fall (Rep), defeated.
  • 1907 Apr 1: Daniel M. McAuliffe (Dem), elected.
  • 1908 Apr 6: Daniel M. McAuliffe (Dem), elected.
  • 1909 Apr 5: Adrian F. Cooper (Rep), elected.
  • 1910 Apr 4: Adrian F. Cooper (Rep), elected; William W. Austin (Dem), defeated.
  • 1911 Apr 3: William W. Austin (Dem), elected.
  • 1912 Apr 1: George U. McCarty (Rep), elected; Charles H. Burnett (Dem), defeated.
  • 1913 Apr 7: Charles H. Burnett (Dem), elected; George U. McCarty (Rep), defeated.
  • 1914 Apr 6: Charles H. Burnett (Dem), elected; Josiah D. Bean (Progressive), defeated; George U. McCarty (Rep), defeated.
  • 1916 Nov 7: E. Floyd Hoaglin, elected; William McIntosh, defeated.
  • 1918 Nov 5: E. Floyd Hoaglin, elected; Frank W. Culver, defeated.
  • 1920 Nov 2: Archer L. Young, elected; Frank W. Culver, defeated.
  • 1922 Nov 7: Archer L. Young, elected unopposed.
  • 1924 Nov 4: Frank W. Culver, elected; Charles E. Marsh, defeated.
  • 1926 Nov 2: Frank W. Culver, elected; Arthur G. Noble, defeated.
  • 1928 Nov 6: Frank W. Culver, elected unopposed.
  • 1930 Nov 4: Norman H. Wiener, elected; Frank W. Culver, elected; Harvey C. Young, defeated.
  • 1944 Dec 8: Norman H. Wiener, resigned.
  • 1996 Nov 5: Michael E. Williams, elected; Lola E. Turner, defeated.
  • 1998 Nov 3: Kim H. Tunnicliff, elected unopposed.
  • 2000 Nov 7: William M. Wheaton, elected unopposed.
  • 2002 Nov 5: William M. Wheaton, elected; Arthur C. Davis, defeated.
  • 2004 Nov 2: William M. Wheaton, elected unopposed.
  • 2006 Nov 7: William M. Wheaton, elected unopposed.
  • 2008 Nov 4: Joseph Domingo, elected; William M. Wheaton, defeated.
  • 2010 Nov 2: Joseph Domingo, elected; William M. Wheaton, defeated.
  • 2012 Nov 6: Joseph Domingo, elected; Andrew N. French, defeated; Richard Fuentes, defeated.

    Village Presidents of Albion, 1884 (may be incomplete!)

    Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1884 Mar 10: Eugene P. Robertson (Dem), elected.

    Postmasters at Albion, 1838-1973 (may be incomplete!)
    Jesse Crowell 1838-49 Don C. Scranton 1849-53 Anson Thompson, Jr. 1853-61 Charles W. Dalrymple 1861-66 Elliott W. Hollingsworth 1866-67 Phineas Graves 1867-75 Martin Haven 1875-86 Frank F. Cole 1886-89 Frederick F. Hoaglin 1889-94 John Fanning 1894-98 Frank L. Irwin 1898-1910 Arthur D. Bangham 1910-15 Willard R. Noyes 1915-23 Ervay J. Mallory 1923-24 Ervay J. Mallory 1924-33 Daniel M. McAuliffe 1933-34 Daniel M. McAuliffe 1934-48 Frank G. Sibal, Jr. 1948-49 Frank G. Sibal, Jr. 1949-73

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/MI/ofc/albion.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]