The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Wayne County

Honorary foreign consuls in Detroit

   Argentina: Samuel Fitzpatrick (Honorary Vice Consul 1923-42)
   Austria: Norman Birnkrant (Honorary Consul 1953-59)
   Belgium: Peter J. Boeye (Honorary Consul 1919-51) — Remi Lowagie (Honorary Consul 1951-59)
   Central America: Manuel R. Gatell (Vice Consul 1897-98) — Joseph M. Bresler (Consul 1897-98)
   Chile: Bruno B. Thannheimer (Honorary Consul as of 1935)
   Colombia: William G. Griffiths (Consul 1901-26)
   Costa Rica: José Joaquin Vargas=Calvo (Honorary Consul as of 1935)
   Cuba: C. W. Harrah (Honorary Consul 1906-14)
   Denmark: Peter Sorensen (Vice Consul 1884-1907) — Aage Emanuel Olsen (Honorary Vice Consul as of 1935) — George Peter Everson (Honorary Vice Consul as of 1950)
   Finland: George H. Heideman (Honorary Vice Consul as of 1935)
   France: Joseph Belanger (Consular Agent 1889-1907) — Maxime Rainguet (Consular Agent as of 1935)
   Germany: Fritz Hailer (Honorary Consul as of 1935)
   Guatemala: Maynard D. Follin (Honorary Consul as of 1926-31)
   Hawaiian Islands: Arthur L. Bresler (Honorary Consul 1895-1900)
   Honduras: Joseph M. Bresler (Consul 1899) — Manuel R. Gatell (Vice Consul 1899-1900) — William G. Griffiths (Vice Consul 1901-07)
   Netherlands: William G. Bryant (Honorary Consul as of 1935) — Charles H. Ray (Honorary Vice Consul as of 1935-42)
   Nicaragua: Joseph M. Bresler (Consul 1895-96) — Joseph M. Bresler (Consul 1899-1900) — Manuel R. Gatell (Vice Consul 1899-1901) — Arthur L. Bresler (Consul General 1901-03) — José Guerrero (Honorary Consul as of 1935)
   Norway: Carl Bromstad Moe (Honorary Vice Consul as of 1935-50)
   Panama: Louis James Rosenberg (Honorary Consul 1923-49) — Louis James Rosenberg (Honorary Consul General 1949-51)
   Spain: William G. Griffiths (Honorary Vice Consul 1897-98) — Lazaro Bartolome=Queralt (Honorary Vice Consul as of 1932-35)
   Sweden: Carl Berglund (Honorary Vice Consul as of 1935)
   Venezuela: Eugene A. Bresler (Vice Consul 1893-99) — Charles E. Bresler (Honorary Consul 1893-98) — Eugene A. Bresler (Honorary Consul 1899-1906)
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/MI/WY-consuls.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]