The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Maine: U.S. Senators

U.S. Senators from Maine, 1820-2019 (May be incomplete!)
John Holmes 1820-27 John Chandler 1820-29 Albion K. Parris 1827-28 John Holmes 1829-33 Peleg Sprague 1829-35 Ether Shepley 1833-36 John Ruggles 1835-41 Judah Dana 1836-37 Reuel Williams 1837-43 George Evans 1841-47 John Fairfield 1843-47 James Ware Bradbury 1847-53 Wyman B. S. Moor 1848 Hannibal Hamlin 1848-57 William Pitt Fessenden 1854-64 Amos Nourse 1857 Hannibal Hamlin 1857-61 Lot M. Morrill 1861-69 Nathan Allen Farwell 1864-65 William Pitt Fessenden 1865-69 Hannibal Hamlin 1869-81 Lot M. Morrill 1869-76 James G. Blaine 1876-81 Eugene Hale 1881-1911 William P. Frye 1881-1911 Charles F. Johnson 1911-17 Obadiah Gardner 1911-13 Edwin C. Burleigh 1913-16 Bert M. Fernald 1916-26 Frederick Hale 1917-41 Arthur R. Gould 1926-31 Wallace H. White, Jr. 1931-49 Owen Brewster 1941-52 Margaret Chase Smith 1949-73 Frederick G. Payne 1953-59 Edmund S. Muskie 1959-80 William D. Hathaway 1973-79 William S. Cohen 1979-97 George J. Mitchell 1980-95 Olympia J. Snowe 1995- Susan M. Collins 1997- Angus S. King 2013-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1828 Aug 26: Albion K. Parris, resigned.
  • 1847 Dec 24: John Fairfield, died in office.
  • 1869 Sep 8: William Pitt Fessenden, died in office.
  • 1911 Aug 8: William P. Frye, died in office.
  • 1916 Jun 16: Edwin C. Burleigh, died in office.
  • 1916 Sep 11: Frederick Hale (Rep), elected; Charles F. Johnson (Dem), defeated; James F. Carey (Socialist), defeated; Arthur C. Jackson (Prohibition), defeated.
  • 1916 Sep 11: Bert M. Fernald (Rep), elected; Kenneth C. Sills (Dem), defeated; Frederick A. Shepherd (Prohibition), defeated.
  • 1918 Sep 9: Bert M. Fernald (Rep), elected; Elmer E. Newbert (Dem), defeated.
  • 1922 Sep 11: Frederick Hale (Rep), elected; Oakley C. Curtis (Dem), defeated.
  • 1924 Sep 8: Bert M. Fernald (Rep), elected; Fulton J. Redman (Dem), defeated.
  • 1926 Aug 23: Bert M. Fernald, died in office.
  • 1926 Sep 13: Arthur R. Gould (Rep), elected; Fulton J. Redman (Dem), defeated.
  • 1928 Sep 10: Frederick Hale (Rep), elected; Herbert E. Holmes (Dem), defeated.
  • 1930 Sep 8: Wallace H. White, Jr. (Rep), elected; Frank H. Haskell (Dem), defeated.
  • 1934 Sep 10: Frederick Hale (Rep), elected; F. Harold Dubord (Dem), defeated; Hans Nelson (Communist), defeated.
  • 1936 Sep 14: Wallace H. White, Jr. (Rep), elected; Louis J. Brann (Dem), defeated.
  • 1940 Sep 9: Owen Brewster (Rep), elected; Louis J. Brann (Dem), defeated; Lewis Gordon (Communist), defeated.
  • 1942 Sep 14: Wallace H. White, Jr. (Rep), elected; Fulton J. Redman (Dem), defeated.
  • 1946 Sep 9: Owen Brewster (Rep), elected; Peter M. MacDonald (Dem), defeated.
  • 1948 Sep 13: Margaret Chase Smith (Rep), elected; Adrian H. Scolten (Dem), defeated.
  • 1952 Sep 8: Frederick G. Payne (Rep), elected; Roger P. Dube (Dem), defeated; Earl S. Grant (Independent Democratic), defeated.
  • 1952 Dec 31: Owen Brewster, resigned.
  • 1954 Sep 13: Margaret Chase Smith (Rep), elected; Paul A. Fullam (Dem), defeated.
  • 1958 Sep 8: Edmund S. Muskie (Dem), elected; Frederick G. Payne (Rep), defeated.
  • 1960 Nov 8: Margaret Chase Smith (Rep), elected; Lucia M. Cormier (Dem), defeated.
  • 1964 Nov 3: Edmund S. Muskie (Dem), elected; Clifford G. McIntire (Rep), defeated.
  • 1966 Nov 8: Margaret Chase Smith (Rep), elected; Elmer H. Violette (Dem), defeated; Neil S. Bishop, defeated.
  • 1970 Nov 3: Edmund S. Muskie (Dem), elected; Neil S. Bishop (Rep), defeated.
  • 1972 Nov 7: William D. Hathaway (Dem), elected; Margaret Chase Smith (Rep), defeated.
  • 1976 Nov 2: Edmund S. Muskie (Dem), elected; Robert A. G. Monks (Rep), defeated.
  • 1978 Nov 7: William S. Cohen (Rep), elected; William D. Hathaway (Dem), defeated; Hayes E. Gahagan (Ind), defeated; John J. Jannace (Ind), defeated; Plato Truman (Ind), defeated.
  • 1982 Nov 2: George J. Mitchell (Dem), elected; David F. Emery (Rep), defeated.
  • 1984 Nov 6: William S. Cohen (Rep), elected; Elizabeth H. Mitchell (Dem), defeated; P. Anne Stoddard (Constitution), defeated.
  • 1988 Nov 8: George J. Mitchell (Dem), elected; Jasper S. Wyman (Rep), defeated.
  • 1990 Nov 6: William S. Cohen (Rep), elected; Neil Rolde (Dem), defeated.
  • 1994 Nov 8: Olympia J. Snowe (Rep), elected; Thomas H. Andrews (Dem), defeated; Plato Truman, defeated.
  • 1996 Nov 5: Susan M. Collins (Rep), elected; Joseph E. Brennan (Dem), defeated; John C. Rensenbrink (Ind), defeated; William P. Clarke (Taxpayers), defeated.
  • 2000 Nov 7: Olympia J. Snowe (Rep), elected; Mark W. Lawrence (Dem), defeated.
  • 2002 Nov 5: Susan M. Collins (Rep), elected; Chellie Pingree (Dem), defeated.
  • 2008 Nov 4: Susan M. Collins (Rep), elected; Tom Allen (Dem), defeated.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/ME/ofc/ussen.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]