The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mayors and Postmasters of Rockland, Maine

Mayors of Rockland, 1854-1920 (may be incomplete!)
Knott Crockett 1854-55 H. G. Berry 1856 Charles Crockett 1857 G. S. Wiggin 1858-66 Jos. Farwell 1867-68 George W. Kimball, Jr. 1869-70 Samuel Bryant 1871 J. Fred Merrill 1872-74 John H. Lovejoy 1874-75 Samuel Bryant 1875-76 Caleb G. Moffitt 1876-78 George Gregory 1878-79 John H. Lovejoy 1879-80 John S. Case 1880-82 George Gregory 1882-84 John S. Case 1884-86 Benjamin Williams 1886-88 William S. White 1888-90 E. A. Butler 1890-93 F. C. Knight 1893-95 John H. Lovejoy 1895-97 Albert W. Butler 1897-98 David N. Mortland 1899-1900 E. K. Gould 1901-02 Israel Snow 1903 James E. Rhodes 1904-05 Rodney I. Thompson 1906 Arnold H. Jones 1907 Rodney I. Thompson 1908 Albert C. McLeon 1909-10 George H. Blethen 1911-13 Philip Howard 1914 Charles M. Harrington 1915 Frank C. Flint 1916-18 Reuben S. Thorndike 1919-20

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1873 Mar 3: J. Fred Merrill (Dem & Citizens), elected.
  • 1874 Mar 2: John H. Lovejoy (Rep), elected.
  • 1891 Mar 2: E. A. Butler (Rep), elected.
  • 1895 Mar 4: John H. Lovejoy (Rep), elected; Samuel A. Keyes (Dem), defeated; Alfred L. Carleton (Socialist Labor), defeated.
  • 1905 Mar 6: James E. Rhodes (Rep), elected; Oliver Otis (Dem), defeated.
  • 1909 Mar 1: Albert C. McLeon (Rep), elected; Philip Howard (Dem), defeated.
  • 1920: Reuben S. Thorndike (Dem), elected; James E. Stevens (Rep), defeated.

    Postmasters at Rockland, 1860-1965 (may be incomplete!)
    B. W. Lathrop as of 1860-61 George W. Kimball, Jr. as of 1883-85 John H. Lovejoy 1890-94 Parker T. Fuller 1894-98 John H. Lovejoy 1898-1902 William O. Fuller, Jr. 1902-09 Edward C. Moran 1936 Edward C. Moran 1936-40 James Connellan 1940-41 James Connellan 1941-61 William A. Glover 1961-64 John J. McAuliffe 1964-

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/ME/ofc/rockland.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]