The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Maine: Governors

Governors of Maine, 1820-2021 (May be incomplete!)
William King 1820-21 William D. Williamson 1821 Benjamin Ames 1821-22 Daniel Rose 1822 Albion K. Parris 1822-27 Enoch Lincoln 1827-29 Nathan Cutler 1829-30 Joshua Hall 1830 Jonathan Glidden Hunton 1830-31 Samuel Emerson Smith 1831-34 Robert P. Dunlap 1834-38 Edward Kent 1838-39 John Fairfield 1839-41 Richard H. Vose 1841 Edward Kent 1841-42 John Fairfield 1842-43 Edward Kavanagh 1843-44 David Dunn 1844 John W. Dana 1844 Hugh J. Anderson 1844-47 John W. Dana 1847-50 John Hubbard 1850-53 William George Crosby 1853-55 Anson P. Morrill 1855-56 Samuel Wells 1856-57 Hannibal Hamlin 1857 Joseph Hartwell Williams 1857-58 Lot M. Morrill 1858-61 Israel Washburn, Jr. 1861-63 Abner Coburn 1863-64 Samuel Cony 1864-67 Joshua L. Chamberlain 1867-71 Sidney Perham 1871-74 Nelson Dingley, Jr. 1874-76 Seldon Connor 1876-79 Alonzo M. Garcelon 1879-80 Daniel Franklin Davis 1880-81 Harris Merrill Plaisted 1881-83 Frederick Robie 1883-87 J. R. Bodwell 1887 Sebastian S. Marble 1887-89 Edwin C. Burleigh 1889-93 Henry B. Cleaves 1893-97 Llewellyn Powers 1897-1901 John F. Hill 1901-05 William T. Cobb 1905-09 Bert M. Fernald 1909-11 Frederick W. Plaisted 1911-13 William T. Haines 1913-15 Oakley C. Curtis 1915-17 Carl E. Milliken 1917-21 Frederic H. Parkhurst 1921 Percival P. Baxter 1921-25 Owen Brewster 1925-29 William T. Gardiner 1929-33 Louis J. Brann 1933-37 Lewis O. Barrows 1937-41 Sumner Sewall 1941-45 Horace A. Hildreth 1945-49 Frederick G. Payne 1949-52 Burton M. Cross 1952-55 Edmund S. Muskie 1955-59 Robert N. Haskell 1959 Clinton A. Clauson 1959 John H. Reed 1959-67 Kenneth M. Curtis 1967-75 James B. Longley 1975-79 Joseph E. Brennan 1979-87 John McKernan, Jr. 1987-95 Angus S. King 1995-2003 John E. Baldacci 2003-11 Paul LePage 2011-19 Janet T. Mills 2019-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1829 Oct 8: Enoch Lincoln, died in office.
  • 1830: Jonathan Glidden Hunton, defeated.
  • 1831: Daniel Goodenow, defeated.
  • 1832: Daniel Goodenow, defeated.
  • 1833: Daniel Goodenow, defeated; Samuel Emerson Smith, defeated.
  • 1834: Peleg Sprague, defeated.
  • 1835: William King, defeated.
  • 1836: Edward Kent, defeated.
  • 1837: Gorham Parks, defeated.
  • 1838: Edward Kent, defeated.
  • 1839: Edward Kent, defeated.
  • 1840: John Fairfield, defeated.
  • 1841: Edward Kent, defeated.
  • 1842: Edward Robinson, defeated; James Appleton (Liberty), defeated.
  • 1843: Edward Robinson, defeated; James Appleton (Liberty), defeated.
  • 1844: Edward Robinson, defeated; James Appleton (Liberty), defeated.
  • 1845: Freeman H. Morse, defeated.
  • 1846: David Bronson, defeated; Samuel Fessenden, defeated.
  • 1847: Samuel Fessenden, defeated; David Bronson, defeated.
  • 1848: Elijah L. Hamlin, defeated; Samuel Fessenden, defeated.
  • 1849: Elijah L. Hamlin, defeated; George F. Talbot, defeated.
  • 1850: William George Crosby, defeated; George F. Talbot, defeated.
  • 1852: William George Crosby, defeated; Anson G. Chandler, defeated.
  • 1853: Anson P. Morrill, defeated; Albert Pillsbury, defeated; Ezekiel Holmes, defeated.
  • 1854: Isaac Reed, defeated; Albion K. Parris (Dem), defeated; Shepard Cary (Liberty), defeated.
  • 1855: Anson P. Morrill, defeated.
  • 1870: Samuel F. Hersey, defeated.
  • 1886: Ira G. Hersey (Prohibition), defeated.
  • 1887 Dec 15: J. R. Bodwell, died in office.
  • 1892: Charles F. Johnson (Dem), defeated.
  • 1894: Charles F. Johnson (Dem), defeated.
  • 1902: Samuel W. Gould (Dem), defeated.
  • 1908: Obadiah Gardner (Dem), defeated.
  • 1912 Sep 9: William T. Haines (Rep), elected; Frederick W. Plaisted (Dem), defeated; George A. England (Socialist), defeated; William I. Sterling (Prohibition), defeated.
  • 1914 Sep 14: Oakley C. Curtis (Dem), elected; William T. Haines (Rep), defeated; Halbert P. Gardner (Progressive), defeated; Percy F. Morse (Socialist), defeated; Frederick A. Shepherd (Prohibition), defeated.
  • 1916 Sep 11: Carl E. Milliken (Rep), elected; Oakley C. Curtis (Dem), defeated; Frank Maxfield (Socialist), defeated; Linus Seeley (Prohibition), defeated.
  • 1918 Sep 9: Carl E. Milliken (Rep), elected; Bertrand G. McIntire (Dem), defeated.
  • 1920: John P. Deering (Rep), defeated in primary.
  • 1920 Sep 13: Frederic H. Parkhurst (Rep), elected; Bertrand G. McIntire (Dem), defeated.
  • 1921 Jan 31: Frederic H. Parkhurst, died in office.
  • 1922: John P. Deering (Rep), defeated in primary.
  • 1922 Sep 11: Percival P. Baxter (Rep), elected; William R. Pattangall (Dem), defeated.
  • 1924 Sep 8: Owen Brewster (Rep), elected; William R. Pattangall (Dem), defeated.
  • 1926 Sep 13: Owen Brewster (Rep), elected; Ernest L. McLean (Dem), defeated.
  • 1928 Sep 10: William T. Gardiner (Rep), elected; Edward C. Moran, Jr. (Dem), defeated.
  • 1930 Sep 8: William T. Gardiner (Rep), elected; Edward C. Moran, Jr. (Dem), defeated.
  • 1936: F. Harold Dubord (Dem), defeated.
  • 1940: Fulton J. Redman (Dem), defeated.
  • 1952: James C. Oliver (Dem), defeated.
  • 1958: Maynard C. Dolloff (Dem), defeated in primary.
  • 1959 Dec 30: Clinton A. Clauson, died in office.
  • 1960: Frank M. Coffin (Dem), defeated.
  • 1974: George J. Mitchell (Dem), defeated.
  • 1986: James E. Tierney (Dem), defeated.
  • 1994: Susan M. Collins (Rep), defeated.
  • 1998: James B. Longley, Jr., defeated; Pat LaMarche (Green Independent), defeated.
  • 2006: Pat LaMarche (Green Independent), defeated.
  • 2010: Steve Rowe (Dem), defeated in primary.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/ME/ofc/gov.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]