The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
York County

York County Political Parties

Democratic Party chairs in York County: [none currently in database]

Republican Party chairs in York County (incomplete!): Jones Gallagher, as of 2003

York County Delegates
to National Party Conventions

Democratic National Conventions:
   1860, Charleston and Baltimore: Thomas K. Lane
   1864, Chicago: William P. Haines — Joseph Titcomb
   1876, St. Louis: Timothy Shaw
   1884, Chicago: Edward W. Staples
   1904, St. Louis: Luther R. Moore
   1912, Baltimore: Frank T. Clarkson — Charles M. Sleeper — Harry A. Weymouth
   1916, St. Louis: William J. Maybury — James W. Meserve — Charles E. Valley
   1924, New York: Frank P. Blanchard — John L. McCourt — Charles E. Valleley
   1928, Houston: Thomas L. Cleaves — John West
   1936, Philadelphia: Michael J. Boland — Armand Duquette — Frederick H. Mitchell
   1940, Chicago: Armand Duquette — Wilfred Landry — Louis B. Lausier
   1944, Chicago: David Dolloff — John J. Dunn — Armand Duquette — Wilfred Landry
   1948, Philadelphia: Armand Duquette — Louis B. Lausier
   1952, Chicago: William Curtis — Armand Duquette — Edward Smith — Nan Smith
   1956, Chicago: Armand Duquette — Simon Spill
   1964, Atlantic City: Frederick Deschambeault — Armand Duquette — Plato Truman
   1984, San Francisco: Carlotta Rolde
   1996, Chicago: Christopher Babbidge — Roger Hare — Mark W. Lawrence
   2000, Los Angeles: Christopher Babbidge
   2004, Boston: Michael W. MacLeod-Ball
   2008, Denver: Christopher Babbidge — Diane Denk — Benjamin Goodman — Linda Valentino
Republican National Conventions:
   1856, Philadelphia: S. C. Adams — James M. Deering
   1860, Chicago: Leonard Andrews — Mark F. Wentworth
   1864, Baltimore: John H. Burleigh — Thomas Quimby
   1868, Chicago: Esreff H. Banks
   1884, Chicago: Gilman N. Dearing — Samuel Hanson — Charles E. Hussey
   1888, Chicago: Charles H. Prescott — William B. Tobie
   1896, St. Louis: Amos L. Allen — J. T. Davidson — Joseph F. Warren
   1900, Philadelphia: Emery Andrews — Daniel A. Hurd — Charles W. Smith
   1904, Chicago: James O. Bradbury — Ernest M. Goodall
   1908, Chicago: Richmond H. Ingersoll — Robert McArthur — Horace Mitchell
   1912, Chicago: Gilman N. Dearing — Nathaniel P. M. Jacobs
   1916, Chicago: Urbain J. Ledoux — Ernest L. Morrill — Walter P. Perkins
   1920, Chicago: William Garner — Ernest L. Morrill — George H. Smith
   1924, Cleveland: John P. Deering — Nathaniel P. M. Jacobs — Elliott Rogers — Joseph W. Simpson
   1928, Kansas City: Mary A. Bradbury — William I. Cummings — Charles G. Moulton — Elliott Rogers
   1932, Chicago: Charles C. Goodrich — Laura B. Stickney
   1936, Cleveland: Joseph W. Simpson — Elizabeth R. Vaughan — Henry G. Vaughan
   1940, Philadelphia: Elmer J. Burnham — Walter A. Powers
   1944, Chicago: Lottie C. Ricker
   1948, Philadelphia: Mrs. Elmer Burnham — Edward H. Emery
   1952, Chicago: Harold D. Carroll — George D. Varney
   1956, San Francisco: Peter Garland
   1960, Chicago: William Bruce — Peter Garland — Bernice B. Hanson
   2008, St. Paul: Burnell W. Bailey — Ronald F. Collins — William Gombar — Eleanor M. Murphy
Whig National Conventions:
   1839, Harrisburg: Samuel Bradley
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/ME/YO-parties.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]