The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Somerset County

Politicians who lived in Somerset County

  Anson: Earl Fenlason — Ellen E. Thomas
  Bingham: Clarence W. Dutton — Dorothy Shaw
  Bloomfield (now part of Skowhegan): A. C. Cleveland
  Caratunk: Ralph Sterling
  Cornville: S. Peter Mills
  East Fairfield, Fairfield: John J. Grant — Malvin Palmer
  East Madison, Madison: M. Lincoln — A. M. Thompson — George D. Young
  Embden: Andrew J. Libby
  Fairfield: William J. Bradbury — Bessie M. Carter — William Connor — W. H. Emery — Dan Gwadosky — Jennie Flood Kreger — Ebenezer Lawrence — Silas T. Lawry — Joseph Libby — Simeon Merrill — Abbott W. Nelson — Bartlett Nye — Frank X. Oakes — Frank B. Puriton — Philip N. Roy — Victor St. Peter — Robert Sezak — Paul L. Tessier — Henry S. Tohey — George G. Weeks — Harold E. Weeks
  Fairfield Center, Fairfield: James H. Holt
  Harmony: Walter S. Bemis — Cecil M. Lancaster — Elmer A. Pattee
  Hartland: Clyde H. Smith
  Jackman: Frank A. MacKenzie
  Larone, Fairfield: Tilly Emery — Will P. Winslow
  Madison: B. Frank Burns — Lawrence T. Dubay — F. Otis Gould — K. C. Gray — R. G. Henderson — George A. Herrick — Andrew Ketterer — Goff Moore — W. F. Scott — Max C. Viles — Charles A. Wilber
  Madison Center, Madison: Thomas H. French — Olive Hayden
  Norridgewock: John S. Abbott — James Bates — Blanche Miriam Emory Folsom — LeRoy R. Folsom — Andrew Ketterer — David Kidder — Stephen D. Lindsey — Cullen Sawtelle — John S. Tenney
  North Anson, Anson: Arthur E. Ela — Frank H. Holley
  North Fairfield, Fairfield: E. L. Hoxie — John Noble
  North New Portland, New Portland: James Mitchell
  Palmyra: Sheldon A. Brackett — Clair Lewis — Sewell B. Millett — Nellie M. Patten
  Pittsfield: Richard H. Berry — Robert H. Berry — Carl Cianchette — Joseph R. Cianchette — Sanger M. Cook — James B. Daily — William Dobson — Going Hathorn — William Lehr — Henry F. Libby — Oramel Murray — Dorothea Rickards — Henry Sanford — Katherine L. Watson — George Whitney
  Ripley: Doug Thomas
  Shawmut, Fairfield: Albert B. Page
  Skowhegan, 1800-1899: Stephen Coburn — Edward Franklin Danforth — Forrest Goodwin — Samuel W. Gould — David Kidder — William J. Knowlton — Charles A. Marston — C. D. Miller — Benjamin White Norris — J. H. Philbrick — E. F. Pierce — R. B. Shepard — Luther H. Webb — Henry A. Wyman
  Skowhegan, 1900-1999: A. G. Blunt — Willard H. Cummings — Edward Franklin Danforth — Isaac Dyer — Francis H. Friend — Martin Gallant — Forrest Goodwin — Samuel W. Gould — Carleton P. Merrill — Edward F. Merrill — Edward N. Merrill — Blin W. Page — Brooks E. Savage — Clyde H. Smith — George Otis Smith — Margaret Chase Smith — William L. Walker
  Solon: W. M. E. Brown
  West Madison, Madison: D. W. Harding
  West Pittsfield, Pittsfield: Martha A. Garfield
   See also Maine areas not assigned to counties.
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/ME/SO-lived.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]