The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Oxford County

Oxford County Political Parties

Democratic Party chairs in Oxford County: [none currently in database]

Republican Party chairs in Oxford County (incomplete!): Paul Billings, as of 2003

Oxford County Delegates
to National Party Conventions

Democratic National Conventions:
   1864, Chicago: John W. Dana — David Hammons
   1876, St. Louis: David R. Hastings
   1912, Baltimore: Merton L. Kimball
   1916, St. Louis: Matthew McCarthy
   1924, New York: Mrs. George B. MacMiniman — Maud Thurston
   1928, Houston: Paul C. Thurston
   1936, Philadelphia: Paul C. Thurston
   1940, Chicago: Peter M. MacDonald — Paul C. Thurston
   1944, Chicago: Louise D. MacDonald — Peter M. MacDonald — Paul C. Thurston
   1948, Philadelphia: Lucia M. Cormier
   1952, Chicago: Ethel M. Caron — Lucia M. Cormier — Gene Goodreau
   1956, Chicago: Lucia M. Cormier
   1964, Atlantic City: Eli Gaudet — Benjamin Robinson
   1984, San Francisco: Jeffery N. Mills
   2004, Boston: Michael Broderick
Republican National Conventions:
   1856, Philadelphia: Mark H. Dunnell
   1884, Chicago: Alonzo F. Lewis
   1888, Chicago: George L. Beal — George A. Wilson
   1896, St. Louis: Waldo Pettingill
   1900, Philadelphia: Waldo Pettingill
   1912, Chicago: Eugene E. Andrews — Aretas E. Stearns
   1916, Chicago: Theodore Hawley
   1920, Chicago: Albert J. Stearns
   1924, Cleveland: Walter G. Morse
   1928, Kansas City: Walter G. Morse
   1932, Chicago: Perley F. Ripley — Orman C. Stanley
   1936, Cleveland: Lawrence Carroll
   1940, Philadelphia: Barbara M. Davenport — Albert J. Stearns
   1944, Chicago: Charles Dunton — Fred E. Hanscom — Lila Stowell
   1948, Philadelphia: Rupert F. Aldrich
   1952, Chicago: Rupert F. Aldrich — Ethel H. Smith
   1956, San Francisco: Marshall Reed — Robert Smith — John F. Weston
   1960, Chicago: B. Frederick Ayer — Norman K. Ferguson, Sr. — Ethel H. Smith
   1972, Miami Beach: Norman K. Ferguson, Sr.
   2008, St. Paul: Richard A. Bennett — Loretta Mikols

"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/ME/OX-parties.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]