The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Hancock County

Hancock County Political Parties

Democratic Party chairs in Hancock County: [none currently in database]

Republican Party chairs in Hancock County (incomplete!): David Lind, as of 2003

Hancock County Delegates
to National Party Conventions

Democratic National Conventions:
   1840, Baltimore: Hezekiah Williams
   1860, Charleston and Baltimore: J. Winthrop Jones
   1864, Chicago: Thomas D. Jones
   1876, St. Louis: James R. Redman
   1912, Baltimore: W. E. Beach
   1916, St. Louis: Howard C. Jordan
   1924, New York: Mrs. William Quimby — Fulton J. Redman
   1928, Houston: Daniel E. Hurley
   1936, Philadelphia: William S. Holmes
   1940, Chicago: Oscar Emery — Fulton J. Redman
   1952, Chicago: Margaret Murray — James G. Sawyer
   1956, Chicago: James G. Sawyer — Alonzo F. Young
   1964, Atlantic City: Roland Guite — Alonzo F. Young
   1984, San Francisco: Sharon McIntyre
   1996, Chicago: Cynthia Blake — Edward Povich
   2004, Boston: Gulley Dunlap — Leslie Harlow
   2008, Denver: Anne Czechanski — Par Kettis — Mary Jane Schepers
Republican National Conventions:
   1856, Philadelphia: A. M. P. Emerson
   1860, Chicago: John West
   1880, Chicago: Eugene Hale
   1884, Chicago: Andrew P. Wiswell
   1888, Chicago: C. C. Burrill — Justin M. Leavitt
   1896, St. Louis: Edward E. Chase — Edward B. Rodick
   1900, Philadelphia: Benjamin S. Higgins — Henry W. Sargent
   1904, Chicago: William H. Davis — Elmer P. Spofford
   1908, Chicago: Orlando W. Foss — Alexander C. Hagerthy
   1912, Chicago: Charles I. Morang
   1916, Chicago: John A. Peters
   1924, Cleveland: Hannibal E. Hamlin
   1932, Chicago: Guy E. Torrey
   1936, Cleveland: Guy E. Torrey
   1940, Philadelphia: David O. Rodick
   1944, Chicago: David O. Rodick
   1952, Chicago: Leonard R. Hilgrove — Donald MacLeod — Ralph C. Masterman
   1960, Chicago: Roy C. Blake, Sr.
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/ME/HA-parties.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]