The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Aroostook County

Aroostook County Political Parties

Democratic Party chairs in Aroostook County: [none currently in database]

Republican Party chairs in Aroostook County (incomplete!): Craig Green, as of 2003

Aroostook County Delegates
to National Party Conventions

Democratic National Conventions:
   1912, Baltimore: Melville P. Milliken — Herbert W. Trafton
   1916, St. Louis: Peter Charles Keegan — Melville P. Milliken
   1924, New York: Thomas V. Doherty
   1936, Philadelphia: Joseph H. Laliberte
   1940, Chicago: Thomas V. Doherty
   1944, Chicago: Harry A. Stephenson
   1948, Philadelphia: Claude Martin
   1952, Chicago: Gerald Keenan
   1956, Chicago: Gerald Keenan
   1964, Atlantic City: Joseph J. Freeman — George McGillicuddy
   1984, San Francisco: John L. Martin
Republican National Conventions:
   1856, Philadelphia: N. Blake
   1860, Chicago: Washington Long
   1864, Baltimore: E. G. Dunn
   1884, Chicago: Eben Woodbury
   1888, Chicago: Frederick A. Powers
   1896, St. Louis: George B. Dunn
   1900, Philadelphia: Atwood W. Spaulding
   1904, Chicago: Albert A. Burleigh
   1908, Chicago: Carl E. Milliken — George H. Smith
   1912, Chicago: J. P. Briggs — Athill E. Irving
   1916, Chicago: Willard P. Hamilton — Patrick F. Therriault
   1920, Chicago: Frank M. Hume — N. F. Perry
   1924, Cleveland: Bessie M. Dougherty — Arthur R. Good — Albert K. Stetson
   1928, Kansas City: Judson C. Briggs — Bessie M. Dougherty — Joseph W. Hammond
   1932, Chicago: Mrs. Clare L. Browne — Ransford W. Shaw
   1936, Cleveland: Andrew J. Beck — J. Frederick Burns — Harry R. Pipes — Nathaniel Tompkins
   1940, Philadelphia: Herbert W. Kitchen
   1944, Chicago: Verna Averill — Bernard E. Esters — Margaret Ranlett
   1948, Philadelphia: James P. Archibald — George P. Findlen
   1952, Chicago: George B. Barnes — Lewis D. Bearce — Bertha McGuire
   1956, San Francisco: Edna Bearce — Herrick Kimball
   1960, Chicago: Mrs. Carmen D. Cyr — Helen C. Mitchell — John H. Reed
   1972, Miami Beach: Hayes E. Gahagan
   2008, St. Paul: Zachary E. Smith

"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/ME/AR-parties.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]