The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Androscoggin County

Androscoggin County Political Parties

Democratic Party chairs in Androscoggin County: [none currently in database]

Republican Party chairs in Androscoggin County (incomplete!): Fred R. Walton, 1923-24 — Michael Vaughan, as of 2003

Androscoggin County Delegates
to National Party Conventions

Democratic National Conventions:
   1860, Charleston and Baltimore: Calvin Record
   1864, Chicago: Philo Clark — A. C. Howard
   1888, St. Louis: Alonzo M. Garcelon
   1904, St. Louis: Frank A. Millett
   1912, Baltimore: Daniel J. McGillicuddy
   1916, St. Louis: Daniel J. McGillicuddy
   1924, New York: Louis J. Brann
   1928, Houston: Mabel Chaney — Daniel J. McGillicuddy
   1936, Philadelphia: Louis J. Brann — Fred H. Lancaster
   1940, Chicago: Louis J. Brann — Fernand Despins — Peter A. Isaacson — Fred H. Lancaster
   1944, Chicago: Jean Charles Boucher — Louis J. Brann — Peter A. Isaacson — Louis C. Jalbert
   1948, Philadelphia: Thomas E. Delahanty — Peter A. Isaacson
   1952, Chicago: Denis Blais — Thomas E. Delahanty
   1956, Chicago: Denis Blais — Albert Cote — Louis C. Jalbert — Alton A. Lessard
   1964, Atlantic City: Robert W. Bonenfant — Albert Cote — Omer Girardin — William D. Hathaway — Emile Jacques
   1984, San Francisco: Patricia Lemaire — John Michael — Janet T. Mills — Gregory Nadeau — Laurie Parkin
   1996, Chicago: Bonnie Adams — Patricia Lemaire
   2004, Boston: Ed Desgrosseilliers — Elaine Makas
   2008, Denver: Elaine Makas
Republican National Conventions:
   1856, Philadelphia: Thomas A. D. Fessenden — Alonzo M. Garcelon
   1864, Baltimore: Nahum Morrill
   1872, Philadelphia: William P. Frye
   1876, Cincinnati: William P. Frye
   1880, Chicago: William P. Frye
   1884, Chicago: George C. Wing
   1896, St. Louis: B. F. Briggs — Hiram W. Ricker
   1900, Philadelphia: Henry B. Estes — Edwin Riley
   1904, Chicago: Arthur G. Staples
   1908, Chicago: Seth M. Carter — Edward P. Ricker
   1912, Chicago: Jesse M. Libby — Arthur G. Staples
   1916, Chicago: Arthur G. Staples
   1920, Chicago: Timothy F. Callahan — Charles B. Carter — R. J. Hodgson
   1924, Cleveland: Timothy F. Callahan — Claire S. Carter — Arthur G. Staples
   1928, Kansas City: Timothy F. Callahan
   1932, Chicago: Edward P. Ricker, Jr. — Arthur G. Staples
   1936, Cleveland: Elwelyn Gamache
   1940, Philadelphia: Harold N. Skelton
   1944, Chicago: Wallace H. White, Jr.
   1948, Philadelphia: Benjamin L. Berman — Nelson M. J. Peters
   1952, Chicago: Willis A. Trafton, Jr. — Selma Wagg
   1956, San Francisco: Willard Riley
   1960, Chicago: Maria Doukas Robinson — Stanley G. Snow
   1972, Miami Beach: Peter T. Snowe
   2008, St. Paul: Dale Crafts — Scott E. Kauffman — Margaret E. Matthews — Lois A. Snowe-Mello
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/ME/AN-parties.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]