The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
U.S. District Court in Maryland

U.S. District Judges for Maryland, 1789-2017 (may be incomplete!)
William Paca 1789-99 James Winchester 1799-1806 James Houston 1806-19 Theodorick Bland 1819-24 Upton Scott Heath 1836-52 John Glenn 1852-53 Thomas John Morris 1879-1912 John C. Rose 1910-22 Morris Ames Soper 1923-31 William Caldwell Coleman 1927-55 William Calvin Chesnut 1931-53 Roszel Cathcart Thomsen 1954-71 Robert Dorsey Watkins 1955-71 Harrison L. Winter 1961-66 Frank Albert Kaufman 1966-86 Alexander Harvey II 1966-91 James Rogers Miller, Jr. 1970-86 C. Stanley Blair 1971-80 Herbert Frazier Murray 1971-88 Joseph H. Young 1971-87 Joseph Clemens Howard 1979-91 Norman Park Ramsey 1980-91 Walter E. Black, Jr. 1982-94 John Raymond Hargrove, Sr. 1984-94 J. Frederick Motz 1985-2010 Frederic N. Smalkin 1986-2003 Deborah K. Chasanow 1993-2014 Peter Jo Messitte 1993-2008 Catherine C. Blake 1995- Andre Maurice Davis 1995-2009 James Kelleher Bredar 2010- Theodore D. Chuang 2014- George Jarrod Hazel 2014-

Officeholding Events (may be incomplete!)

  • 1799 Oct 23: William Paca, died in office.
  • 1806 Apr 5: James Winchester, died in office.
  • 1819 Jun 8: James Houston, died in office.
  • 1824 Aug 16: Theodorick Bland, resigned.
  • 1852 Feb 21: Upton Scott Heath, died in office.
  • 1853 Jul 8: John Glenn, died in office.
  • 1912 Jun 6: Thomas John Morris, died in office.
  • 1953 Jul 31: William Calvin Chesnut, took senior status.
  • 1955 Jun 1: William Caldwell Coleman, resigned.
  • 1971 Jan 31: Roszel Cathcart Thomsen, took senior status.
  • 1971 Aug 11: Robert Dorsey Watkins, took senior status.
  • 1980 Apr 20: C. Stanley Blair, died in office.
  • 1986 Dec 1: James Rogers Miller, Jr., resigned.
  • 1987 Aug 1: Joseph H. Young, took senior status.
  • 1988 Dec 31: Herbert Frazier Murray, took senior status.
  • 1991 Mar 8: Alexander Harvey II, took senior status.
  • 1991 Nov 1: Norman Park Ramsey, took senior status.
  • 1991 Nov 15: Joseph Clemens Howard, took senior status.
  • 1994 Feb 21: John Raymond Hargrove, Sr., took senior status.
  • 1994 Oct 21: Walter E. Black, Jr., took senior status.
  • 2003 Jan 8: Frederic N. Smalkin, took senior status.
  • 2008 Sep 1: Peter Jo Messitte, took senior status.
  • 2010 Dec 17: J. Frederick Motz, took senior status.
  • 2014 Oct 3: Deborah K. Chasanow, took senior status.
    "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/MD/ofc/usdjud.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]