The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
U.S. District Attorneys in Maryland

U.S. District Attorneys for Maryland, 1789-1998 (may be incomplete!)
Richard Potts 1789-92 Zebulon Hollingsworth 1792-1806 John Stephen 1806-10 Thomas B. Dorsey 1810-12 Elias Glenn 1812-24 Nathaniel Williams 1824-41 Z. Collins Lee 1841-45 William L. Marshall 1845-50 Z. Collins Lee 1850-53 William M. Addison 1853-62 William Price 1862 Archibald Sterling, Jr. 1878-86 Thomas Gordon Hayes 1886-90 John T. Ensor 1890-94 William L. Marbury 1894-98 John C. Rose 1898-1910 John Philip Hill 1910-15 Samuel K. Dennis 1915-20 Robert R. Carman 1920-22 Amos W. W. Woodcock 1927-31 Simon E. Sobeloff 1931-34 Bernard J. Flynn 1934-53 George C. Doub 1953-56 Walter E. Black, Jr. 1956-57 Leon H. A. Pierson 1957-61 Joseph D. Tydings 1961-63 Robert H. Kernon 1963 Thomas J. Kenney 1963-67 Stephen H. Sachs 1967-70 George Beall 1970-75 Jervis S. Finney 1975-78 Russell T. Baker 1978-81 Herbert Better 1981 J. Frederick Motz 1981-85 Catherine C. Blake 1985-86 Breckinridge L. Willcox 1986-91 Richard D. Bennett 1991-93 Gary P. Jordan 1993 Lynne Ann Battaglia 1993-98
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/MD/ofc/usatty.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]