The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Maryland: State Councilors

Members of Maryland State Executive Council, 1779-1977 (May be incomplete!)
John Hoskins Stone 1779-85 Benjamin Stoddert 1781-82 Benjamin Ogle 1783 Aquila Paca 1783-84 John Hoskins Stone 1791-92 William Pinkney 1792-95 John Johnson 1796-97 Philip Reed 1805-06 James Nabb 1806-07 George E. Mitchell 1809-12 James Nabb 1811 Alexander C. Magruder 1812-15 Virgil Maxcy 1815 William Potter 1816 James Nabb 1819-21 Joseph Gabby 1824-27 John Nevett Steele 1826 Henry Page 1831 William Potter 1831-33 Thomas Contee Worthington 1831-33 Thomas W. Veazey 1834-35 George C. Washington 1834-35 Thomas G. Pratt 1838 Harry R. Hughes 1970-77

"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/MD/ofc/excn.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]