The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Maryland: State Comptrollers

Maryland State Comptrollers, 1851-2011 (May be incomplete!)
Phillip F. Thomas 1851-53 Henry E. Bateman 1853-54 William Pinkney Whyte 1854-56 William H. Purnell 1856-61 Dennis Claude 1861 A. Lingan Jarrett 1861-62 Samuel S. Maffit 1862-64 Henry Hollyday Goldsborough 1864 Robert John Jump 1864-67 William J. Leonard 1867-70 Levin Woolford 1870-78 Thomas James Keating 1878-84 J. Frank Turner 1884-88 L. Victor Baughman 1888-92 Marion de Kalb Smith 1892-96 Robert P. Graham 1896-98 Phillips L. Goldsborough 1898-1900 Joshua W. Hering 1900-04 Gordon T. Atkinson 1904-08 Joshua W. Hering 1908-10 William B. Clagett 1910-11 Charles H. Stanley 1911-12 Emerson C. Harrington 1912-16 Hugh A. McMullen 1916-20 E. Brooke Lee 1920-22 William S. Gordy, Jr. 1922-39 J. Millard Tawes 1939-47 James J. Lacy 1947-50 J. Millard Tawes 1950-59 Louis L. Goldstein 1959-98 Robert L. Swann 1998-99 William Donald Schaefer 1999-2007 Peter V. R. Franchot 2007-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1861 May 8: William H. Purnell, resigned; Dennis Claude, appointed.
  • 1869 Nov 2: William A. McKellip (Rep), defeated; Levin Woolford (Dem), elected.
  • 1877: Thomas James Keating (Dem), elected.
  • 1910 Jun 1: William B. Clagett, appointed.
  • 1911 Jul 25: William B. Clagett, died in office.
  • 1919 Nov 4: E. Brooke Lee (Dem), elected.
  • 1966 Sep 13: Louis L. Goldstein (Dem), nominated; Charles Meredith Boyce (Dem), defeated in primary; Archie D. Williams (Dem), defeated in primary.
  • 1966 Sep 13: Charles S. Bresler (Rep), nominated; Harry L. Simms (Rep), defeated in primary.
  • 1966 Nov 8: Louis L. Goldstein (Dem), elected; Charles S. Bresler (Rep), defeated.
  • 1970 Nov 3: Louis L. Goldstein (Dem), elected; Harold Cross (Rep), defeated.
  • 1998: Michael S. Steele (Rep), defeated.
  • 1998 Jul 3: Louis L. Goldstein, died in office.
  • 1998 Jul 9: Robert L. Swann, appointed.
  • 1998 Nov 3: William Donald Schaefer (Dem), elected; Larry Mark Epstein (Rep), defeated; Lih Young, defeated; Bob Kearns, defeated.
  • 2002 Sep 10: William Donald Schaefer (Dem), nominated; John T. Willis (Dem), defeated in primary; Lih Young (Dem), defeated in primary.
  • 2002 Sep 10: Gene Zarwell (Rep), nominated; Augustus Alzona (Rep), defeated in primary.
  • 2002 Nov 5: William Donald Schaefer (Dem), elected; Gene Zarwell (Rep), defeated; Lih Young, defeated; Beth Hufnagel (Green), defeated.
  • 2006 Sep 12: Peter V. R. Franchot (Dem), nominated.
  • 2006 Nov 7: Peter V. R. Franchot (Dem), elected.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/MD/ofc/comp.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]