The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Maryland: Continental Congress

Delegates to Continental Congress from Maryland, 1774-89 (May be incomplete!)
Samuel Chase 1774-78 Robert Goldsborough 1774-76 John Hall 1774-75 Thomas Johnson 1774-76 William Paca 1774-80 Matthew Tilghman 1774-76 Robert Alexander 1775-76 John Rogers 1775-76 Thomas Stone 1775-76 Charles Carroll of Carrollton 1776-81 Charles Carroll, Barrister 1776-77 Benjamin Rumsey 1776-77 James Forbes 1777-80 William Smith 1777-78 Thomas Stone 1777-78 William Carmichael 1778-80 John Henry 1778-80 Daniel of St. Thomas Jenifer 1778-82 George Plater 1778-80 John Hall 1779 John Hanson 1779-82 Thomas Johnson 1779-81 Daniel Carroll 1781-83 Samuel Chase 1781-82 Richard Potts 1781 Turbutt Wright 1781-82 William Hemsley 1782-83 Thomas Sim Lee 1782-83 Jeremiah T. Chase 1783-84 Samuel Chase 1783-85 John Hall 1783-84 Edward Lloyd 1783-84 James McHenry 1783-85 Thomas Stone 1783-84 William Hindman 1784-86 Luther Martin 1784 Richard Ridgely 1784-85 Gustavus Scott 1784-85 William Harrison, Jr. 1785-87 John Henry 1785-86 Nathaniel Ramsey 1785-87 Uriah Forrest 1786-87 John Eager Howard 1787-88 David Ross 1787-89 Joshua Seney 1787-88 Benjamin Contee 1788

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1780 Mar 25: James Forbes, died in office.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/MD/ofc/ccdel.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]