The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Baltimore city

Honorary foreign consuls in Baltimore

   Argentina: C. Morton Stewart (Consul 1864-98) — Frederick E. Muller (Consul 1899-1901) — Franklin J. Morton (Consul 1901-02) — Harvey Coale (Consul as of 1902) — James F. Ferguson (Consul 1903) — James F. Ferguson (Vice Consul 1906-14) — Richard J. Leupold (Vice Consul 1916-25) — Luis Jorge Chretienneau (Honorary Consul as of 1940)
   Austria: Charles William Galloway (Honorary Consul as of 1935)
   Austria-Hungary: G. Louis Hester (Consul 1904-07)
   Belgium: Alexander T. Leftwich (Consul 1910-14) — J. G. Whiteley (Honorary Consul 1917-44) — V. Leftwich (Vice Consul as of 1921) — Walter V. Connor (Honorary Consul 1956-59)
   Bolivia: Raymond M. Glacken (Consul 1902-14) — Henry B. Wilcox (Honorary Consul 1923-31)
   Brazil: C. Oliver O'Donnell (Vice Consul 1864-76) — Léonce Rabillon (Commercial Agent 1903-07) — George William Chester (Consul as of 1929) — William Everett Craig (Vice Consul as of 1929) — Pablo Alegre (Honorary Vice Consul as of 1935)
   Central America: C. Morton Stewart, Jr. (Consul General 1897-98)
   Chile: Washington Booth (Consul 1872-77) — Thomas Whitridge (Consul 1892-95) — Richard J. Leupold (Consul 1895-1907) — Manuel Sigren (Honorary Consul as of 1935)
   Colombia: Frederick W. Feldner (Consul 1901-07)
   Congo Free State: J. G. Whiteley (Consul General 1905-07)
   Costa Rica: William A. Riordan (Consul 1896-1935)
   Cuba: Cyrus Sears (Honorary Consul 1906-08)
   Denmark: Thomas Whitridge (Vice Consul 1892-95) — Morris Whitridge (Vice Consul 1896-97) — Morris Whitridge (Consul 1898-1903) — Holger A. Koppel (Honorary Vice Consul 1905-35) — George Harry Ponder (Honorary Vice Consul as of 1950)
   Dominican Republic: William A. Riordan (Vice Consul 1900-26) — Julius F. Sandrock (Honorary Consul as of 1935)
   France: Léonce Rabillon (Consular Agent 1896-1907) — John Phelps (Consular Agent as of 1935)
   Germany: George A. von Lingen (Consul 1877-1903)
   Great Britain: George Payne (Honorary Vice Consul as of 1935)
   Guatemala: C. Morton Stewart, Jr. (Honorary Consul General 1896-1921) — John A. McIsaac (Honorary Consul as of 1926-35) — Conrado E. De Lamar (Honorary Consul as of 1944)
   Haiti: Maurice B. Carlin (Honorary Consul as of 1944)
   Honduras: C. Morton Stewart, Jr. (Consul General 1896) — C. Morton Stewart, Jr. (Consul General 1898-1911) — Paul G. Shipley (Honorary Vice Consul as of 1931-35) — C. Morton Stewart, Jr. (Honorary Consul as of 1931)
   Iceland: Stefan Einarsson (Honorary Vice Consul as of 1950)
   Italy: Prospero Schiaffino (Consular Agent 1890-1907)
   Liberia: William E. Hoffman (Consul 1898-1907)
   Netherlands: Claas Vocke (Consul 1856-77) — Claas Vocke (Consul 1888-1903) — J. M. Bikbergen (Honorary Consul as of 1935)
   Nicaragua: James V. Wagner (Honorary Consul 1891-96) — C. Morton Stewart, Jr. (Consul General 1899-1900) — James F. Ferguson (Consul 1903)
   Norway: Joel M. Cloud (Honorary Vice Consul as of 1935-50)
   Panama: James F. Ferguson (Vice Consul 1905-07) — Abdiel Arias (Vice Consul as of 1921) — H. T. Maxwell (Honorary Vice Consul as of 1921) — Ricardo Martinelli (Honorary Consul as of 1935) — William F. Volmerhaus (Honorary Vice Consul as of 1935)
   Paraguay: Thomas E. Barrett, Jr. (Honorary Consul as of 1948)
   Peru: Washington Booth (Consul 1873-77) — Juan de Dios Martinez=Galdino (Honorary Consul as of 1935)
   Portugal: Frank Frick, Jr. (Vice Consul 1897-1903) — Adelbert W. Mears (Honorary Vice Consul as of 1935)
   Russia: Augustus Kohler (Vice Consul 1864-77) — Charles Nitze (Vice Consul 1879-1903)
   Spain: Prospero Schiaffino (Vice Consul 1896-98) — Prospero Schiaffino (Honorary Vice Consul 1900-07) — Aurelio T. Schiaffino (Honorary Vice Consul as of 1935)
   Sweden: Edgar T. Fell (Honorary Vice Consul as of 1935)
   Uruguay: Léonce Rabillon (Consul 1892-1914) — Augusto Francisco Pablo du Pont (Consul 1921-22) — John Phelps (Honorary Vice Consul as of 1934-40) — Edmundo Novoa (Honorary Consul as of 1940) — Eduardo Iglesias (Honorary Consul as of 1948)
   Venezuela: C. Morton Stewart (Consul 1875-77) — James V. Wagner (Honorary Consul 1901-03) — Augusto Francisco Pablo du Pont (Honorary Consul 1922) — Leon du Bois (Honorary Consul 1923-31) — Maurice du Bois (Honorary Consul 1933-37)
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/MD/ba-consuls.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]