The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Montgomery County

Montgomery County Political Parties

Democratic Party chairs in Montgomery County: [none currently in database]

Republican Party chairs in Montgomery County (incomplete!): David Scull, 1958-60

Montgomery County Delegates
to National Party Conventions

Democratic National Conventions:
   1912, Baltimore: Arthur Peter
   1916, St. Louis: Andrew J. Cummings
   1924, New York: Eugene Jones — E. Brooke Lee
   1928, Houston: Mrs. B. Ashby Leavell — E. Brooke Lee — Benjamin C. Perry
   1936, Philadelphia: Leslie C. Garnett — Benjamin C. Perry — Stedman Prescott
   1940, Chicago: E. Brooke Lee — Alfred Paul — Clarence Small
   1944, Chicago: Eugene E. Casey — E. Brooke Lee, Jr. — Mrs. Ralph W. Wells
   1948, Philadelphia: Blair Lee III — Mrs. Charles E. Roach
   1952, Chicago: Warren Browning — Charles Buscher — Samuel Eig — James W. Gill — E. Brooke Lee, Jr. — Julia Russo
   1956, Chicago: Frank L. Morris — Margaret C. Schweinhaut
   1960, Los Angeles: Blair Lee III
   1964, Atlantic City: Virginia Black — Ann Brown — Esther Coopersmith — William C. Doherty — Ruth Fleming — Royce Hansen — Blair Lee III — James M. Quigley — Alfred L. Scanlan — Margaret C. Schweinhaut
   1968, Chicago: Blair Lee III
   1972, Miami Beach: Blair Lee III
   1988, Atlanta: Bruce Adams — Michael D. Barnes — Mary Boergers — Constance Bryant — David B. Cortright — Gene W. Counihan — Lanny J. Davis — Sidney Kramer — Lucille Maurer — Sally McGarry — Javier Miyares — Rosalie Reilly — Margaret C. Schweinhaut — Mark Siegel — Michael Subin — William W. Winpisinger
   1996, Chicago: Daphne Iris Bloomberg — Douglas M. Duncan — Martha D. Fish — Margaret Hamrick-Steele — Jessamyn Sarmiento Jacobsen — Robert S. McGarry — R. Scott Pastrick — Kenneth P. Reichard — Ida G. Ruben — Steven Rukavina — Brian Scott — Mary Ellen Shine — Mary Elizabeth Teasley — Elizabeth H. Tolbert — Susan W. Turnbull — Mary Ellen Withrow
   2000, Los Angeles: Douglas M. Duncan — Susan W. Turnbull — Mary Ellen Withrow
   2004, Boston: Naomi Bloch — Thomas Buffenbarger — Donna Callejon — Douglas Cook — Douglas M. Duncan — Mark Feinroth — Louise Gallum — Joseph Hansen — Richard Hirn — Cheryl C. Kagan — Anne Kaiser — Susan Lee — Soo Lee-Cho — Belkis Leong-Hong — Susan Liss — Anne Maher — Richard McKeon — William Minor — Heather Mizeur — Susan W. Turnbull — Chris Van Hollen — Mary Ellen Withrow
   2008, Denver: Jean Bailey — Stewart Bainum, Jr. — Mary Boergers — Michael Buckley — Alvaro Cifuentes — John K. Delaney — Rosie Engman — Brian Feldman — Nancy Floreen — Peter V. R. Franchot — Joseph Hansen — Susan Lee — Belkis Leong-Hong — Marcia Massey — Heather Mizeur — Ellis Mottur — Lynn Novelli — Elly Shaw-Belblidia — Susan W. Turnbull — Jason Waskey
Republican National Conventions:
   1856, Philadelphia: W. H. Farquhar
   1888, Chicago: Benjamin H. Miller
   1896, St. Louis: Charles B. Jones
   1900, Philadelphia: Thomas C. Noyes
   1912, Chicago: Gist Blair — Galen L. Tait
   1916, Chicago: Gist Blair
   1920, Chicago: Thomas Dawson — Galen L. Tait
   1924, Cleveland: Paul Sleman
   1928, Kansas City: Clara C. Holmes
   1932, Chicago: Beulah A. Clark — Clara C. Holmes
   1936, Cleveland: Walter W. Dawson
   1944, Chicago: DeWitt W. Zook
   1948, Philadelphia: Leslie Aries
   1952, Chicago: J. Paul Marshall — L. S. Ray
   1956, San Francisco: George C. Warner, Jr.
   1960, Chicago: Mrs. Alvin L. Aubinoe — Edward J. Clarke — Mary Hepburn
   1964, San Francisco: Louise Gore — Gordon L. Hawk — Eileen Stathes — Newton Steers
   1968, Miami Beach: Gilbert Gude
   1972, Miami Beach: Barrie S. Ciliberti — Stanley H. Eckles — Louise Gore — Gilbert Gude — Carey Heckman — Mary G. Keech — Barbara Kendall — Alexander M. Lankler — Jo Ann Niefeld
   1988, New Orleans: Joshua Smith
   2004, New York: Stephen Abrams — Katja Bullock — Howard A. Denis — John Kane — Doro Bush Koch — Jayne H. Plank
   2008, St. Paul: Everett Alvarez — Michael Cronin — Gary Guy — Rex Reed — Nelson Rosenbaum — James F. Shalleck — Justin Shuy — Joyce Lyons Terhes — Mark Uncapher — Daniel Sherman Willard — Daniel Zubairi
   2012, Tampa: James Calderwood — Lee Cowen — Howard A. Denis — Ignacio Sanchez — Martha Schaerr — Joyce Lyons Terhes — Mark Uncapher — Josephine Jung-shan Wang
Whig National Conventions:
   1839, Harrisburg: Richard J. Bowie
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/MD/MO-parties.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]