The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Cecil County

Politicians who were born in Cecil County

  Cecil County (no city given): John Archer, 1741 — Joshua Clayton, 1744 — Richard Bassett, 1745 — William Matthews, 1755 — George Jackson, 1757 — William S. Fulton, 1795 — Edward G. Bradford, 1819 — John S. Wirt, 1851
  Near Bay View: George A. Welsh, 1878
  Blue Ball: Joseph A. Mendenhall, 1920
  Bohemia Manor: Benjamin Rumsey, 1734 — John Bubenheim Bayard, 1738
  Near Cecilton: David Davis, 1815
  Near Charlestown: Philip Barton Key, 1757 — Albert Constable, 1805
  Chesapeake City: William T. Malster, 1843
  Near Conowingo: Austin L. Crothers, 1860
  Near Earleville: Thomas W. Veazey, 1774
  Elkton: Robert Alexander, c.1740 — Jeremiah Cosden, 1768 — Levin Gale, 1784 — John Glenn, 1795 — Samuel C. Sample, 1796 — Alexander Evans, 1818 — James B. Groome, 1838
  Near Elkton: James Allison, Jr., 1772 — Hiram McCullough, 1813 — Hart Benton Holton, 1835
  Georgetown: James Dunlop, 1793
  Head of Elk (now Elkton): George E. Mitchell, 1781
  Near North East: George Read, 1733
  Perryville: John Chew Thomas, 1764
  Port Deposit: John A. J. Creswell, 1828 — William T. Galliher, c.1855 — Hugh S. Hersman, 1872
  Near Rising Sun: James Gerry, 1796
  Near Rock Church: William Sharpe, 1742
  Rowlandsville: J. P. Cooley, 1845
   See also Maryland birthplaces not assigned to counties.
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/MD/CE-born.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]