The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
U.S. District Court in Massachusetts

U.S. District Judges for Massachusetts, 1789-2021 (may be incomplete!)
John Lowell 1789-1801 Peleg Sprague 1841-65 John Lowell 1865 Thomas Leverett Nelson 1879-97 Francis Cabot Lowell 1898 Frederic Dodge 1905-12 James Madison Morton, Jr. 1912-32 Elisha Hume Brewster 1922-41 Hugh Dean McLellan 1932-41 George C. Sweeney 1935-66 Charles Edward Wyzanski, Jr. 1941-71 Arthur D. Healey 1942-48 William T. McCarthy 1949-60 Bailey Aldrich 1954-59 Andrew Augustine Caffrey 1960-86 W. Arthur Garrity, Jr. 1966-85 Frank Jerome Murray 1967-77 Levin H. Campbell 1971-72 Frank H. Freedman 1972-92 Walter Jay Skinner 1973-92 A. David Mazzone 1978-93 Robert Ernest Keeton 1979-2003 John Joseph McNaught 1979-91 David Sutherland Nelson 1979-91 Reginald C. Lindsay 1993-2009 Patti B. Saris 1993- Richard Gaylore Stearns 1993- F. Dennis Saylor IV 2004- Denise Jefferson Casper 2010- Indira Talwani 2014- Mark Gerald Mastroianni 2014- Leo Theodore Sorokin 2014- Allison Dale Burroughs 2014-

Officeholding Events (may be incomplete!)

  • 1865 Mar 13: Peleg Sprague, resigned.
  • 1897 Nov 21: Thomas Leverett Nelson, died in office.
  • 1941 Sep 30: Hugh Dean McLellan, resigned.
  • 1941 Oct 14: Elisha Hume Brewster, took senior status.
  • 1948 Sep 16: Arthur D. Healey, died in office.
  • 1960 May 31: William T. McCarthy, took senior status.
  • 1966 Sep 30: George C. Sweeney, took senior status.
  • 1971 Sep 1: Charles Edward Wyzanski, Jr., took senior status.
  • 1977 Jul 15: Frank Jerome Murray, took senior status.
  • 1986 Oct 17: Andrew Augustine Caffrey, took senior status.
  • 1991 Feb 1: John Joseph McNaught, retired.
  • 1991 Sep 27: David Sutherland Nelson, took senior status.
  • 1992 Jan 1: Frank H. Freedman, took senior status.
  • 1992 Sep 14: Walter Jay Skinner, took senior status.
  • 1993 Jun 3: A. David Mazzone, took senior status.
  • 2003 Feb 28: Robert Ernest Keeton, took senior status.
  • 2009 Mar 12: Reginald C. Lindsay, died in office.
    "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/MA/ofc/usdjud.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]