The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
U.S. District Attorneys in Massachusetts

U.S. District Attorneys for Massachusetts, 1789-1998 (may be incomplete!)
Christopher Gore 1789-96 Harrison Gray Otis 1796 John Davis 1796-1801 George Blake 1801-29 Andrew Dunlop 1829-35 John Mills 1835-41 Franklin Dexter 1841-45 Robert Rantoul, Jr. 1845-50 George Lunt 1850-53 Benjamin F. Hallett 1853-57 Charles Levi Woodbury 1857-61 Richard H. Dana, Jr. 1861-68 George S. Hillard 1868-70 David H. Mason 1870-73 George P. Sanger 1873-86 George M. Stearns 1886-87 Owen A. Galvin 1887-90 Frank D. Allen 1890-93 Sherman Hoar 1893-97 Boyd B. Jones 1897-1901 Henry P. Moultin 1901-05 Melvin O. Adams 1905-06 Asa P. French 1906-14 George W. Anderson 1914-17 Thomas J. Boynton 1917-20 Daniel J. Gallagher 1920-21 Robert O. Harris 1921-25 Harold P. Williams 1925-26 Frederick H. Tarr 1926-33 Francis J. W. Ford 1933-38 John A. Canavan 1938-39 Edmund J. Brandon 1939-46 George F. Garrity 1946-47 William T. McCarthy 1947-49 George F. Garrity 1949-53 Anthony Julian 1953-59 Elliot L. Richardson 1959-61 W. Arthur Garrity, Jr. 1961-66 Paul F. Markham 1966-69 Herbert F. Travers, Jr. 1969-71 James N. Gabriel 1971-72 Joseph L. Tauro 1972 James N. Gabriel 1973-77 Edward F. Harrington 1977-81 William F. Weld 1981-86 Robert S. Mueller III 1986-87 Frank L. McNamara, Jr. 1987-89 Jermiah T. O'Sullivan 1989 Peter A. Mullin 1989 Wayne A. Budd 1989-93 A. John Pappalardo 1993 Donald K. Stern 1993-98
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/MA/ofc/usatty.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]