The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Massachusetts: State Treasurers

Massachusetts State Treasurers, 1780-2002 (May be incomplete!)
Henry Gardner 1780-83 Thomas Ivers 1783-87 Alexander Hodgdon 1787-92 Thomas Davis 1792-97 Peleg Coffin, Jr. 1797-1801 Jonathan Jackson 1802-06 Thomson J. Skinner 1806-08 Josiah Dwight 1808-10 Thomas Harris 1810-11 Jonathan L. Austin 1811-12 John T. Apthorp 1812-17 Daniel Sargent 1817-22 Nahum Mitchell 1822-27 Joseph Sewell 1827-32 Hezekiah Barnard 1832-37 David Wilder 1837-42 Thomas Russell 1842-43 John Mills 1843-44 Thomas Russell 1844-45 Joseph Barrett 1845-49 Ebenezer Bradbury 1849-51 Charles B. Hall 1851-53 Jacob H. Loud 1853-55 Thomas J. Marsh 1855-56 Moses Tenney, Jr. 1856-61 Henry K. Oliver 1861-66 Jacob H. Loud 1866-71 Charles Adams, Jr. 1871-76 Charles Endicott 1876-81 Daniel A. Gleason 1881-86 Alanson W. Beard 1886-89 George A. Marden 1889-94 Henry M. Phillips 1894-95 Edward P. Shaw 1895-1900 Edward S. Bradford 1900-05 Arthur B. Chapin 1905-09 Elmer A. Stevens 1909-14 Frederick W. Mansfield 1914-15 Charles L. Burrill 1915-20 James Jackson 1920-23 John W. Haigis 1929-30 Francis X. Hurley 1930 Charles F. Hurley 1931-36 Frederick W. Mansfield 1941 Laurence Curtis 1947-48 Foster Furcolo 1953-54 Joseph D. Malone 1991-99

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1894: John M. Fisher (Prohibition), defeated.
  • 1895 Apr 12: Henry M. Phillips, resigned.
  • 1898: Herbert M. Small (Prohibition), defeated.
  • 1904 Nov 8: Arthur B. Chapin (Rep), elected; Edmund D. Codman (Dem), defeated; Hubert C. Bartlett (Socialist), defeated; Willard O. Wylie (Prohibition), defeated; Andrew Mortensen (Socialist Labor), defeated.
  • 1905 Nov 7: Arthur B. Chapin (Rep), elected; Daniel F. Doherty (Dem), defeated; David S. Brodeur (Socialist), defeated; Christopher D. Albro (Prohibition), defeated; Joao Claudino (Socialist Labor), defeated.
  • 1909 Apr 1: Arthur B. Chapin, resigned.
  • 1914: Frederick W. Mansfield (Dem), defeated.
  • 1920 Sep 3: Charles L. Burrill, resigned.
  • 1920 Sep 8: James Jackson, appointed.
  • 1922 Nov 7: James Jackson (Rep), elected; Joseph E. Venne (Dem), defeated; Dennis F. Reagan (Socialist), defeated; Patrick H. Loftus (Socialist Labor), defeated.
  • 1948 Nov 2: John E. Hurley (Dem), elected; Laurence Curtis (Rep), defeated; Malcolm T. Rowe (Socialist Labor), defeated; Harold J. Ireland (Prohibition), defeated.
  • 1958 Nov 4: John F. Kennedy (Dem), elected; John E. Yerxa (Rep), defeated; John Erlandsson (Socialist Labor), defeated; Warren C. Carberg (Prohibition), defeated.
  • 1964 Sep 10: Louise Day Hicks (Dem), defeated in primary.
  • 1990: George Keverian (Dem), defeated in primary.
  • 1990 Nov 6: William F. Galvin (Dem), defeated.
  • 2002 Nov 5: Timothy Cahill (Dem), elected; Daniel A. Grabauskas (Rep), defeated; James O'Keefe (Green), defeated.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/MA/ofc/trea.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]