The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Massachusetts: State Supreme Court

Justices of the Massachusetts State Supreme Court, 1782-1999 (May be incomplete!)
William Cushing 1782-89 Nathaniel Peaslee Sargent 1782-91 David Sewall 1782-89 Increase Sumner 1782-97 Francis Dana 1785-1806 Nathan Cushing 1790-1800 Robert Treat Paine 1790-1804 Thomas Dawes 1792-1802 Theophilus Bradbury 1797-1803 Samuel Sewall 1800-14 Simeon Strong 1801-05 George Thatcher 1801-24 Theodore Sedgwick 1802-13 Isaac Parker 1806-30 Charles Jackson 1813-23 Daniel Dewey 1814-15 Samuel Putnam 1814-42 Samuel Sumner Wilde 1815-50 Levi Lincoln, Jr. 1824-25 Marcus Morton 1825-40 Charles Augustus Dewey 1837-66 Samuel Hubbard 1842-47 Richard Fletcher 1848-53 Charles Edward Forbes 1848 Theron Metcalf 1848-65 George Tyler Bigelow 1850-68 Caleb Cushing 1852-53 Pliny Merrick 1853-64 Benjamin Franklin Thomas 1853-59 E. Rockwood Hoar 1859-69 Reuben Atwater Chapman 1860-73 Horace Gray 1864-81 James Denison Colt 1865-66 Dwight Foster 1866-69 John Wells 1866-75 James Denison Colt 1868-81 Seth Ames 1869-81 Marcus Morton 1869-90 Charles Devens 1873-77 William C. Endicott 1873-82 Otis P. Lord 1875-82 Augustus Lord Soule 1877-81 William Allen 1881-91 Charles Devens 1881-91 Walbridge Abner Field 1881-99 Charles Allen 1882-98 Oliver Wendell Holmes, Jr. 1882-1902 Waldo Colburn 1882-85 William Sewall Gardner 1885-87 Marcus P. Knowlton 1887-1911 James M. Morton 1890-1913 James Madison Barker 1891-1905 John Lathrop 1891-1906 John Wilkes Hammond 1898-1914 William Caleb Loring 1899-1919 Henry K. Braley 1902-29 Henry N. Sheldon 1905-15 Arthur P. Rugg 1906-38 Charles A. DeCourcy 1911-24 John C. Crosby 1913-37 Edward P. Pierce 1914-37 James B. Carroll 1915-32 Charles Francis Jenney 1919-23 William C. Wait 1923-34 George Augustus Sanderson 1924-32 Fred Tarbell Field 1929-47 Charles Henry Donahue 1932-40 Henry Tilton Lummus 1932-55 Louis S. Cox 1937-40 Joseph L. Hurley 1937-56 Jacob J. Spiegel 1961-72 Francis J. Quirico 1969-81 Charles Fried as of 1995-99

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1885 Sep 26: Waldo Colburn, died in office.
  • 1890 Aug 27: Marcus Morton, resigned.
  • 1891 Jun 4: William Allen, died in office.
  • 1929 Jan 17: Henry K. Braley, died in office.
  • 1956 Apr 29: Joseph L. Hurley, died in office.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/MA/ofc/spju.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]