The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mayors and Postmasters of Northampton, Massachusetts

Mayors of Northampton, 1883-2012 (may be incomplete!)
Benjamin E. Cook, Jr. 1884-86 Arthur G. Hill 1887-88 Jeremiah Brown 1889-90 Jasper E. Lambie 1891 John B. O'Donnell 1892-93 Henry A. Kimball 1894-95 John N. Mason 1896 John L. Mather 1897 Henry P. Field 1898 John L. Mather 1899-1900 Arthur Watson 1901 Henry C. Hallett 1902-04 Theobald M. Connor 1905-06 Egbert I. Clapp 1907 James W. O'Brien 1908-09 Calvin Coolidge 1910-11 William H. Feiker 1912-16 Alvertus J. Morse 1917-19 M. J. FitzGerald 1920-21 Harry E. Bicknell 1922-23 Edward J. Woodhouse 1924 William H. Feiker 1925 William Welch 1926-27 Jesse A. G. Andre 1928-29 Homer C. Bliss 1930-33 James P. Boland 1934-35 Charles L. Dunn 1936-37 William H. Feiker 1938-39 Charles J. O'Connor 1940-41 Walter O'Donnell 1942-44 Edmond J. Lampron 1945-46 Edwin L. Olander 1947-49 Luke F. Ryan 1950-51 Pierre Drewsen 1952-53 James Cahillane 1954-59 Durbin H. Wells 1960-61 Wallace J Puchalski 1962-69 Sean M. Dunphy 1970-75 David Cramer 1976-77 Harry S. Chapman 1978-79 David B. Musante 1980-91 Mary Ford 1992-99 Mary Clare Higgins 2000-11 David Narkewicz 2012-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1883: Benjamin E. Cook, Jr., elected.
  • 1886: Arthur G. Hill, elected.
  • 1888: Jeremiah Brown, elected.
  • 1889 Dec 3: Jeremiah Brown (Dem), elected; Richard W. Irwin (Rep), defeated.
  • 1890: Jasper E. Lambie, elected.
  • 1891: John B. O'Donnell, elected.
  • 1893 Dec 5: Henry A. Kimball (Dem), elected; Clark (Rep), defeated.
  • 1894 Dec 4: Henry A. Kimball (Dem), elected.
  • 1895: John N. Mason, elected.
  • 1896: John L. Mather, elected.
  • 1897: Henry P. Field, elected.
  • 1898: John L. Mather, elected.
  • 1900: Arthur Watson, elected.
  • 1901: Henry C. Hallett, elected.
  • 1904: Theobald M. Connor, elected.
  • 1906: Egbert I. Clapp, elected.
  • 1907: James W. O'Brien, elected.
  • 1911 Dec 5: William H. Feiker (Rep), elected.
  • 1918 Dec 3: Alvertus J. Morse (Rep), elected unopposed.
  • 1919: M. J. FitzGerald, elected.
  • 1921: Harry E. Bicknell, elected.
  • 1923: Edward J. Woodhouse, elected.
  • 1924: William H. Feiker, elected.
  • 1925: William Welch, elected.
  • 1927: Jesse A. G. Andre, elected.
  • 1929: Homer C. Bliss, elected.
  • 1933: James P. Boland, elected.
  • 1935: Charles L. Dunn, elected.
  • 1937: William H. Feiker, elected.
  • 1939: Charles J. O'Connor, elected.
  • 1941: Walter O'Donnell, elected.
  • 1944: Edmond J. Lampron, elected.
  • 1946: Edwin L. Olander, elected.
  • 1949: Luke F. Ryan, elected.
  • 1951: Pierre Drewsen, elected.
  • 1953 Nov 3: James Cahillane (Dem), elected; Pierre Drewsen (Rep), defeated.
  • 1959: Durbin H. Wells, elected.
  • 1961: Wallace J Puchalski, elected.
  • 1963: Jack Morse, defeated.
  • 1969: Sean M. Dunphy, elected.
  • 1975: David Cramer, elected.
  • 1977: Harry S. Chapman, elected.
  • 1979: David B. Musante, elected.
  • 1991: Mary Ford, elected.
  • 1999 Nov 2: Mary Clare Higgins, elected; Tony M. Long, defeated.

    Postmasters at Northampton, 1897-1969 (may be incomplete!)
    Arthur F. Nutting as of 1897 L. L. Campbell as of 1901 Charles H. Sawyer 1924-36 Edward E. Cooney 1936-37 Edward E. Cooney 1937-51 Harry John Ubertalli 1951-52 John F. Murphy 1952-69

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/MA/ofc/northampton.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]