The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Massachusetts: Lieutenant Governors

Lieutenant Governors of Massachusetts, 1780-2012 (May be incomplete!)
Thomas Cushing 1780-88 Benjamin Lincoln 1788-89 Samuel Adams 1789-94 Moses Gill 1794-1800 Samuel Phillips 1801-02 Edward H. Robbins 1802-06 Levi Lincoln 1807-09 David Cobb 1809-10 William Gray 1810-12 William Phillips 1812-23 Levi Lincoln, Jr. 1823-24 Marcus Morton 1824-25 Thomas L. Winthrop 1826-33 Samuel T. Armstrong 1833-36 George Hull 1836-43 Henry H. Childs 1843-44 John Reed 1844-51 Henry W. Cushman 1851-53 Elisha Huntington 1853-54 William C. Plunkett 1854-55 Simon Brown 1855-56 Henry W. Benchley 1856-58 Eliphalet Trask 1858-61 John Z. Goodrich 1861 John Nesmith 1862 Joel Hayden 1863-66 William Claflin 1866-69 Joseph Tucker 1869-73 Thomas Talbot 1873-75 Horatio G. Knight 1875-79 John D. Long 1879-80 Byron Weston 1880-83 Oliver Ames 1883-87 John Q. A. Brackett 1887-90 William H. Haile 1890-93 Roger Wolcott 1893-97 W. Murray Crane 1897-1900 John L. Bates 1900-03 Curtis Guild, Jr. 1903-06 Eben S. Draper 1906-09 Louis A. Frothingham 1909-12 Robert Luce 1912-13 David I. Walsh 1913-14 Edward P. Barry 1914-15 Grafton D. Cushing 1915-16 Calvin Coolidge 1916-19 Channing H. Cox 1919-21 Alvan T. Fuller 1921-25 Frank G. Allen 1925-29 William S. Youngman 1929-33 Gaspar G. Bacon 1933-35 Joseph L. Hurley 1935-37 Francis E. Kelly 1937-39 Horace T. Cahill 1939-45 Robert F. Bradford 1945-47 Arthur W. Coolidge 1947-49 Charles F. Sullivan 1949-53 Sumner G. Whittier 1953-57 Robert F. Murphy 1957-60 Edward F. McLaughlin, Jr. 1961-63 Francis X. Bellotti 1963-65 Elliot L. Richardson 1965-67 Francis W. Sargent 1967-69 Donald R. Dwight 1971-75 Thomas P. O'Neill III 1975-83 John F. Kerry 1983-85 Paul Cellucci 1991-97 Jane M. Swift 1999-2001 Kerry Healey 2003-06 Tim Murray 2007-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1788 Feb 28: Thomas Cushing, died in office.
  • 1800 May 20: Moses Gill, died in office.
  • 1873: John Quincy Adams (Dem), defeated.
  • 1880: Alpha E. Thompson (Dem), defeated.
  • 1888: John W. Corcoran (Dem), defeated.
  • 1889: John W. Corcoran (Dem), defeated.
  • 1890: John W. Corcoran (Dem), defeated.
  • 1891: John W. Corcoran (Dem), defeated.
  • 1894: Samuel B. Shapleigh (Prohibition), defeated.
  • 1898: John L. Kilborn (Prohibition), defeated.
  • 1899: John H. Mack (Dem), defeated.
  • 1901: John W. Coughlin (Dem), defeated.
  • 1903: Curtis Guild, Jr. (Rep), elected; Richard Olney II (Dem), defeated; John Quincy Adams (Socialist), defeated; Moritz E. Ruther (Socialist Labor), defeated; W. F. Merrill (Prohibition), defeated.
  • 1904 Nov 8: Curtis Guild, Jr. (Rep), elected; John C. Crosby (Dem), defeated; Olof Bokelund (Socialist), defeated; Frank P. Dyer (Prohibition), defeated; Moritz E. Ruther (Socialist Labor), defeated.
  • 1905 Nov 7: Eben S. Draper (Rep), elected; Henry M. Whitney (Dem), defeated; Patrick Mahoney (Socialist), defeated; Thomas F. Brennan (Socialist Labor), defeated; John H. Smith (Prohibition), defeated.
  • 1911: David I. Walsh (Dem), defeated.
  • 1913: August H. Goetting (Rep), defeated.
  • 1918: Joseph H. O'Neil, defeated.
  • 1922 Nov 7: Alvan T. Fuller (Rep), elected; John F. Doherty (Dem), defeated; Thomas Nicholson (Socialist), defeated; Oscar Kinsalas (Socialist Labor), defeated.
  • 1924: Frank G. Allen (Rep), elected.
  • 1934: John W. Haigis (Rep), defeated.
  • 1936: Leverett Saltonstall, defeated.
  • 1946: Albert Cole (Rep), defeated in primary.
  • 1948 Nov 2: Charles F. Sullivan (Dem), elected; Arthur W. Coolidge (Rep), defeated; Lawrence Gilfedder (Socialist Labor), defeated; Guy S. Williams (Prohibition), defeated.
  • 1950: Robert F. Welch (Rep), defeated in primary; Robert Welch (Rep), defeated in primary.
  • 1958 Nov 4: Robert F. Murphy (Dem), elected; Elmer C. Nelson (Rep), defeated; Francis A. Votano (Socialist Labor), defeated; Harold E. Bassett (Prohibition), defeated.
  • 1966 Nov 8: Francis W. Sargent, elected.
  • 1970: Michael S. Dukakis, defeated.
  • 1976: Eva B. Hester (Dem), defeated in primary.
  • 1998 Sep 15: Warren E. Tolman (Dem), nominated; Dorothy Kelly Gay (Dem), defeated in primary.
  • 1998 Sep 15: Jane M. Swift (Rep), nominated; Janet E. Jeghelian (Rep), defeated in primary.
  • 1998 Nov 3: Jane M. Swift (Rep), elected; Warren E. Tolman (Dem), defeated; Eli Israel (Libertarian), defeated.
  • 2002 Nov 5: Kerry Healey (Rep), elected; Christopher F. Gabrielli (Dem), defeated; Anthony F. Lorenzen (Green), defeated; Richard P. Aucoin (Libertarian), defeated; Joseph F. Schebel (Ind), defeated.
  • 2006 Sep 19: Tim Murray (Dem), nominated.
  • 2006 Nov 7: Tim Murray (Dem), elected.
  • 2010 Nov 2: Tim Murray (Dem), elected.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/MA/ofc/ltgov.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]